Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Arthur from Lenox, Massachusetts USA

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
I had no idea that Moscow was a filthy, criminal city. The hotel has seen better days, but it has terrific history, and is quite gorgeous. But I wouldn't go outside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A step back in time

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 nights in Moscow on business. Not the first time in the hotel, it's always a pleasure to be here. High ceilings, huge rooms, helpful staff, bathtub with shower in the bathroom, very good breakfast - a very good hotel overall.
5 out of 5
by Santiago from San Diefo

Great hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff were very friendly, rooms were a bit outdated but overall very comfortable and big. Location was a bit far from city center but only 10 min walk to dinamo station and just 4 stops to kremlin. Great breakfast and great hotel, i would definitely stay hete again.
5 out of 5
by Steven from California

History with a romantic past

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Staff is wonderful. Hotel has great history and while old is kept well so the glorious past is preserved. Easy to get to in a great neighborhood. The food, while extra, is excellent and the price very reasonable. Stay here. You will thank yourself!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Felt like I went back in time to the Soviet Union. Hotel has a great history to it. Check out the back ballroom. It was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Soviet style with a smile :-)

Posted Jul 3, 2015
With fairly low expectations of Moscow and Russia in general, we were blown away by the people, buildings, food, beer and tourist attractions. The hotel was true Soviet splendour with marble throughout and more gold leaf than you can imagine. Despite it's opulence, the staff were charming and so we hope to return in the depths of winter to experience it all again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2015 by Historical Hotel "Sovietsky", Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam! We thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion about our hotel. We are extremely pleased that our hotel made such good impression on you. We will be glad, if You and Your friends will choose our hotel again. Yours faithfully, Historical Hotel "Sovietsky"
4 out of 5
by Vishnukanth from Bangalore

Nice comfortable hotel, take king size bed rooms

Posted Dec 3, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2015 by Historical Hotel Sovietsk, Hotel Management
Dear Vishnukanth! We thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion about our hotel. We will be very pleased to see you in our hotel in future. Kind regards, Historical Hotel Sovietsky.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very old fashioned hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Historical interior design. breakfast (comparing to similar star hotels), large rooms, some friendly staff
Cons: No air condition, no minibar, poor room service
Nearest Metro station Dinamo 600 m. There is a men's club inside the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels
A bit far out from the centre. Beautiful interior but attention to details such as vacuuming carpet in elevators, etc could be improved. Breakfast is not as good as the other hotels that we stayed in. Ingredients are there but presentation could improve. Definitely the fan was helpful in the room for air circulation.