Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

A perfect central position.

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Pros: Staff, bar food, breakfast and general ambience.
Cons: Reduce the price!
Location: I have already. Lots of nearby restaurants.
A short stroll to The Bolshoi,the Red Square Gum and the Kremlin, in other words a perfectly positioned hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Location, Location, Location

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Pros: The ambience & history
Cons: Bathrooms
Location: Perfect close to everything including 3/4 metro stations
This hotel has much to offer, it is literally a tourist attraction in itself. Only downfall average bathrooms but as the rest of the hotel has so much to offer this can be overlooked
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Elegant and next to Red Square

Posted Dec 21, 2017
We wanted to walk in the steps of Amor Towles' Gentleman in Moscow. It turns out most of the book was fiction , but we still enjoyed impeccably clean and beautifully decorated hotel. The swimming pool and sauna and weight room in the basement are alone worth the price of a stay. Plus live music during breakfast, an original cocktail menu, the Lenin library and four metro stations are just moments away.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Poor Service.

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Service and attitude
Second Unpleasant Incident: My breakfast which I prepaid for the two days out of my 5 night stay was not captured at the restaurant even though I have confirmed the date of my breakfast during check-in. On one occasion, halfway through my late breakfast, the restaurant staff presented us with a bill and insisted that breakfast was not included. I was told he already checked with the front desk receptionist. I asked him if he could double check, instead he insisted that I go to the reception with him. By the time, I went up to my hotel room to get my hotel confirmation and followed him to reception to clarify that my breakfast was indeed included, it was already towards the end of the breakfast buffet. And the whole episode had already spoilt my appetite. The restaurant staff was very apologetic for the mistake at this point. Valeria did not apologized even though she had wrongfully told the restaurant staff that my breakfast was not included. Instead, she acted as if it was not her problem, unapologetic at all and gave very silly excuses. The other receptionist, Alexandra, even chipped in to explain that the mistake was due to special rate I got from Expedia. I was shocked to hear that. Does this explain why I am treated this way? Does it mean that booking through an agent will result in second class service? This left a very bad taste in my mouth and ruined my stay at Metropol Hotel. It's such a shame this is happening and I really hoped that I am treated this way not
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Arrogant and Unhelpful Front Desk -Valeria

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Serivce
I never had such strong urge to name the service staff for poor service. First Unpleasant Incident with Valeria: We checked-in on 31 Oct and had problem with the activation of hotel wifi connection. After calling the receptionist, Valeria, we managed to activate the wifi for one of our devices. I was hung up rudely without a reply after I said thank you and good bye to her. We thought that this is a one-time activation on a per room basis. But we later found out that each device needs to be activated separately calling different number. We called Valeria again and she told us we could dial the number from our hotel room phone to activate our wifi connection, which is totally not true. We tried dialing according to her instruction but it did not work at all. It was a lie. We went down to the reception and requested for help to activate our devices. Before we could activate all our devices for wifi, she suddenly turned away to put away the cordless phone. She questioned us why is it that we cannot activate the wifi on our own. She asked us nastily what is our phone for although we already told her that we were not on roaming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Great staff, location, service and hospitality. Fabulous restaurants and shops near by, Bolshevik is a walking distance. So is the Kremlin and Red square. Easy access to metro( subway) btw a must see , as all the stations are peace of art
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Historical hotel in the center of Moscow

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Stayed in October 2017. What I liked during my stay: - central location, very close to the Red Square - very nice breakfast buffet, wide selection of Russian dishes & some live music - staff was friendly and everything was quick What I didn’t like: - extremely slippery floor in the bathroom, even when it’s dry, I fell two times - lucky I didn’t break anything - it was too hot in the room during the night, I couldn’t find any way to adjust the temperature or a/c
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Location and Historic Style

Posted Oct 20, 2017
This hotel is in a perfect location within walking distance of Red Square, St Basil's Cathedral and the Kremlin. There are still touches of historic art nouveau elements in the lobby, dining area and of course the exterior. The rooms are modern. Breakfast was exceptional and the staff were extremely helpful and many spoke English.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes UK

Great hotel fantastic location

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Great location, amazing breakfast Harp playing champers and the best buffet possible
Cons: some of the hotel is tired.
Location: All the main sights are within a few minutes walk and metro is 100M away
Great Hotel, Staff excellent, rooms are very clean and comfortable. and if looking for an excellent location for seeing the sights of Moscow in authentic 5* hotel it doesn't get much better
5 out of 5
by Albert

Location, location, location !

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent location ! Pillows were awful....manager/concierge was very accommodating, showed us the Boyarsky dining room, which was not open to the public.,also gave my husband a book on Moscow for his birthday...