Ratings based on 576 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Soviet Union gem

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Location!!! Location!!! Location!!! (I sound like a real estate agent, I know...:-))) But seriously, it is 5 min walk to all the gems in Moscow
Cons: As we ordered a least expensive room, it came with 3 issues: really bad hairdryer, no washroom air vent and no AC in the room.
Location: Diamond fund, Armory Chamber: limited N of tick sold every morning for the day, the box office opens at 9, but you have to be there at 7 to get them.
We stayed in the hotel for 3 days, and we took advantage of their current promotion, where you get 1 night free if you book 2 weekend nights. So, overall price was very affordable. We travelled on a budget, so we did not order the room with city view, our windows faced the backyard. However, there was no noise at night, no kitchen smells, and was plenty of fresh air. I would say, that from what I saw, all exposures in this hotel are nice. I give highest ratings to the hotel stuff, they accommodated our early arrival, were very helpful, all our small requests (ironing board, cell phone charger, extra water) were satisfied in a blink of the eye. The hotel is very clean, it has nice recreational facilities (gym, pool and sauna), and again the recreational employee was the sweetest heart ever))) At night, we enjoyed live piano performance in the lobby, nice touch, made me feel like I was teleported in the late Russian Bourgeoisie period. The hotel itself is a very special epic place, and I highly recommend it to anyone staying in Moscow.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good three star, but not five star

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Cons: Needs a complete refurbishment
Question of expectations. Was a great hotel 25 years ago but 25 years is a long time and the hotel is now completely outclassed by other five star hotels. Reasonable though as a three star and a great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles.

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Great location. A lot of history. Incredible stuff. Delicious breakfast. Would recommend to everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Spacious lobby. Spacious rooms. Very good buffet breakfast in charming suroundings.
Location: Located across street from the Kremlin and Bolshoi Ballet.
Quick check-in and offered an upgrade to junior Suite by Tatania who was very plesant and had a nice smile. Room had local character.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Nice hotel close to the Kremlin and Red Square

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Rooms need to be updated, especially the bathrooms.
Location: Perfect location to get to anywhere in Moscow.
Nice hotel close to Rd Square and the Kremlin. Excellent staff. Breakfast restaurant is wonderful and the space is beautiful. The rooms are dated and need a remodel, but you don't spend much time in your room because there is so much to see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Gem in plain sight

Posted Aug 30, 2017
This old and magnificent giant is located right near red square. Walking distance from all the main Moscow sights. It is a beautiful old building , well kept and being renovated. The old elegance and grandeur is still there. The room was perfect for me, a single traveler. The bed was changed only once and replacing the shampoo was overlooked, but these are minor shortcomings. The restaurant had an excellent staff and superb menu. The atmosphere transports you to a guilted age. Even more precious since this was unexpected in Russia. Price for the room was very reasonable in late August. Don't miss this gem!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Historic Place!

Posted Aug 27, 2017
First of all, the history of the hotel itself makes it quite special. Still, I was not expecting such attentive service from every staff member I came into contact with. They were ALL so kind and helpful. I was 100% pleased with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great centrally located hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Great location, gracious staff, beautiful surroundings
Cons: The buffet breakfast, bit substandard for the price
Location: Centrally located opposite the Bolshou and 3 minutes walk from The Krelin
I found this a great place to stay, opposite the Bolshoi and 3 minutes walk from The Kremlin. It was easy to walk to all the main tourist attractions and there were lots of restaurants and cafes within a few minutes walk. The Metropole has a couple of good restaurants too. The only blip we had ( I was travelling with 2 friends), was that we'd asked for a room with 3 beds and they gave us one with 2 beds. I had e mailed them a few days before to confirm thie 3 beds. They then offered us a smoky substandard room and finally after a lot of negotiation they gave us 2 rooms. Apart from that I can't fault this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan, US and the world

I stay a lot in Moscow...no better place to stay!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
As always, the Metropol exceeded my expectations. If you love history, classic service and great comfort, then this is the place for you. You can pay a lot more and not get the same service or room at many other places. And the location is awesome! Right by the Kremlin. Simply the best...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES

fantastic location!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: location location!
Excellent location, outstanding service. we were in walking distance to all the locations we were going to visit and we had taxi and hop in hop off stations right around the hotel.