Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not Novotel standard

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: very comfortable beds my children were really pleased with the soft toys they received at checkin to add to their Novotel collection.
Cons: air-conditioning and ventilation renovate the rooms (e.g. toilets with was basins for hygiene sake!) dining options
Location: This is not in Metz, so if you want to see the city this is not the place to stay. Hypermarket across the road, but was closed when we arrived.
Stayed overnight as part of trip to central Europe. To be fair, this is not a hotel you would choose for holiday, and it serves its purpose for being reasonably close to the motorways. But, even taking this into consideration, the facility did not meet our experience and expectations with the Novotel chain. The room was far too small for a family of 4 (two children), and the odour left by the air conditioning was unpleasant and not welcoming at all. We ended up leaving the window open all night, but this left us exposed to the noise of several tour coaches revving up at 7am the following morning trying to collect their late passengers. Generally, the room was dated, with a separate toilet that lacked ventilation (and no window) and had no basin for washing your hands. We opted to eat dinner in the hotel, but the menu was scarce on choices. Being allergic to gluten, my wife went for a salad as the safe option, but it was soaked in vinegar and left much to the imagination to be called a salad. The breakfast buffet was reasonable, I can't really complain, but my kids were left disappointed to find the hot-chocolate option was unavailable on the coffee machine. Not sure whether the tab-water is safe to drink in this region (apologies for being so ignorant), so we bought a few bottles of Evian water to take to the room after dinner. This took half an hour after none of the staff were available at the bar.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Condition and Uncomfortable

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Quite good location near the main routes
The hotel looks old and is in urgent need of refurbishment. The carpets were stained, the toilet was leaking, wallpaper was peeling and our "non smoking" room smelt of cigarettes. The main bed was okay at best and the sofa bed for the children was impossible to sleep on. The staff were not approachable and it took repeated attempts to get offered an alternative room, which was just as bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent second stay

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Our second trip to this hotel as a night stop on the way to Switzerland. Our first was last summer so the pool was open to entertain the children, but this February it clearly was not going to be! However, still very child friendly allowing the girls to play in the large open reception area with some of the other guests whilst we had a drink. Food as before, excellent with helpful and polite staff. Breakfast good as per our previous stay. Comfortable and clean family room with pull out beds for the children. Would stay again and definitely recommend it to others. location just of the motorway is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good hotel convenient to major highways.

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Just an overnight stop but good overall experience. Hypermarket just across the street. Convenient but no excessive traffic noise in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2015
There is small pool and playground for children. I believe it's good Hotel for Family with children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older hotel with little service

Posted Jul 14, 2015
My room was some what clean but what really made me mad was staff was not very helpful when I told them my internet wasn't working in my room and they just said "well it works here." Made me so mad!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from livonia, mi

Nice hotel directly off the expressway

Posted May 16, 2015
hotel was great. Total traveler hotel. Not too many perks, just a solid hotel to stay overnight. Breakfast was good. Hotel was older but in good shape.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hard to find, overpriced, and poorly equipped.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: Consider the experience of your guests, and the comparable quality they can get at other brands of hotel, and try to at least get close.
Location: On a featureless back road, close to a Motorway, which Google navigation finds it almost impossible to find. Avoid. Go to Thionville, it's nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paula from UK

Great hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Very friendly, a nice atmosphere. Restaurant & bar were very good.
Stayed here as a stop over on our journey from Le Mans to Bavaria. A lovely hotel, staff were very friendly, a good bar & restaurant too. Would stay here again. Good secure large car park as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by snowyfox from UK

Functional and convenient

Posted Nov 5, 2013
Pros: Well located. Decent buffet breakfast. Free Wi-Fi. Clean, quiet room. Nice shower.
Cons: Hotel is rather dated and could do with freshening up. Restaurant opens at 7pm which is quite late for a tired family with children wanting a meal.
Location: Very well located for a one-nighter when travelling to Germany etc.
Very conveniently located literally a couple of minutes drive from the E50. Hotel is a bit tired and dated but very clean in all areas, so not a deal-breaker. Staff pleasant, in particular the young bar man who remembered us from our nights stay the previous week. The X-box in reception was well received by our son and others. All breakfast staff said good morning and were pleasant. Buffet breakfast was plentiful and with a good selection. Bar drinks were generally a little on the expensive side, although cocktails were 8 Euros so about right for a hotel chain. Check in and out easy and efficient. Had an error on our bill but it was sorted immediately. Our room was a little musty but comfortable and surprisingly very quiet (slept with our window open) given the location. Free Wi-Fi.