Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

A most wonderful experience.

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: We really enjoyed the quaint décor of our room. The views of the pond and gardens were wonderful.
Cons: The only suggestion I would make is to install a luggage/wheelchair ramp leading into the hotel.
Location: The location is great. The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful pond, with swans. We enjoyed the lake built in house for them. The gardens are amazing.
We booked a room for 1 night as our son's wedding reception was held at the hotel. When we arrived, we were met by very attentive wait staff. We enjoyed a wonderful light lunch with the wedding party, then checked into the room. What a wonderful, quaint, beautiful, comfortable room! The hotel was very quiet. Staff were alert, attentive and polite. The wedding reception could not have been more delightful. The wait staff were amazing! The food was exceptional. The ambiance was superb. Again, the wait staff need to be acknowledged as very professional. For example, when they were serving the food, they wore white gloves and made eye contact with each other so to set the food on the table at the same moment. We could not have been more impressed. Thank you Nells Park staff for making our visit from California so memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottish Borders

Excellent hotel for short stay

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Location: We went to a concert at the Trier Arena, literally 5 minutes walk away. The hotel is perfectly placed for events at the arena, but book early!
Very good stay, room was comfortable and clean, dinner in the restaurant was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Pleasant surroundings, quiet and restful. Clean rooms. Great food and service. Friendly front desk. Close to public transportation.
Cons: Room in which we stayed, although clean, needed updating.
Location: Trier is a virtual paradise of history worthy of two or three days. Roman ruins; remarkable churches and fantastic pipe organs; old town; etc.
The hotel is obviously in the midst of extended renovation. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Food service was excellent. Location was near public transportation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Pleasant accommodation, good food and fine wines

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: Standard of accommodation, staff, food
Cons: Very little - we'd stay there again on our next visit to Trier
Location: Close to the town - about 30 mins walk; pleasant setting with a park, gardens and a pond right beside the hotel
We stayed for three days: staff were freidnly and helpful, room clean with a balcony and view over a park; we could only dine there for one night, but the food was very good and there is a pretty good wine list: we certainly enjoyed the wine we had there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommend paying extra for a park facing room.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Location: Good bus service into city centre.
Pleasant, good evening meal. Staff were helpful and service good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great, Comfortable Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Location: Trier and all its magnificent historical structures, particularly the Porta Nigra.
Such a great, comfortable hotel. It's about 1.5 miles from the city center and all the sites. Public transportation (bus) is easily obtained from the hotel, which sits on Nells Park. The setting is fantastic and the staff is helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Comfortable and relaxing hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Secure parking and English speaking staff
Excellent helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful views over the park from the terrace.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Relaxed surroundings, and nice views over the park

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Comfortable hotel, very good staff, good value for breakfast. A little surprised to see some things in the room that needed fixing - not essential things but still looked a little shabby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Kaiserslautern

Great Trier hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Great hotel in Trier. Brilliant staff, very helpful and accomodating. The bed was terribly uncomfortable. We ate our Anniversary Dinner in the Resteraunt in the hotel in the "winter garten". The food was amazing but we were seated uncomfortably close to strangers throughout our meal. The breakfast buffet was delicious and a much better seating arrangment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, Nevada

Decent hotel just out of town.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Location, ease of parking (charge), restaurant.
Cons: More facilities in the room; e.g. TV movies, Tea/Coffee maker, fridge
Location: Plenty to see in Trier. Luxemburg short train or car ride away. Whole Mosel valley to explore. Wine tasting.
Best if you have a car as close to motorway and roads north to Mosel valley. There is bus service into town - about 10 minute ride. Pleasant park behind hotel. Single room accommodation was rather sparse. No fridge, no tea/coffee maker, only 3 hangers. Carpet rather tired. Small bathroom was OK and clean. Shower worked well, but no shelf for accessories. Decent TV but no movies. Free internet was good. Hotel restaurant food was very good but limited choice, especially of more reasonably-priced items. Excellent local wines. Recommend the dry Riesling for about 5 euros for a small carafe. Breakfast was average. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful and spoke English.