Ratings based on 403 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2018
Nice Decent Place to Stay. Clean Rooms and at a Good Location just outside the city.Nice Decent Place to Stay. Clean Rooms and at a Good Location just outside the city.Nice Decent Place to Stay. Clean Rooms and at a Good Location just outside the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Perfect

Posted Jan 12, 2018
When we first arrived we were greeted by the staff, extremely friendly and polite. Told us about things in the surrounding area of the hotel and around the city we could do. The hot tub was a perfect way to relax after a day out and about. Bar had good prices and friendly staff to talk with as well. Breakfast was awesome had a lot of options and was yummy/filling. The room itself was very nice, clean, large, and the balcony had a great view. Other amenities like pool and darts were also very nice to have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from motherwell,scotland

Christmas treat for myself and my wife

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Pros: welcoming and ease of all staff.
Location: location perfect for touring to geysers,national park & blue lagoon. local transport great for visiting reykjavic.
thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. check in with niklas could not have been easier. we spent a great 5 days in Iceland and would definitely recommend this holiday to anybody and to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Great stay

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Overall hotel stay was great. It was close to stores, easily accessible, and clean. The beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Shaun , Hotel Management
Thanks so much glad you enjoyed your stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a youth hostel

Posted Jan 5, 2018
My mistake in not researching before I booked. No refrigerator for snacks and drinks 3 single beds family room with no privacy. Cold eggs for breakfast Little variety for breakfast. No hot milk for cocoa No microwave oven for snacks Two channels on tv one only in English No soap or shampoo/confitioner
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2018 by Shaun , Hotel Management
We only have refrigerators on our studio rooms which is clearly described on expedia and our homepage ,however you could of asked us to store some of the food items in our Hotel kitchen and use of the microwave as well.Yes we do provide soap in the plastic container which is a body soap .The studio room would have been better for you and sorry we did not reach your requirements.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Great stay, great staff and felt relaxed. Good advice from reception staff and good for tour pick ups. A little outside of Reykjavík but this is what we wanted and bus travel is easy and not expensive Views from the hotel are awesome Only critique is breakfasts could be a bit more imaginative- waffles great experience fr first day but three breakfasts in a row made it a tad boring
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely Hotel, amazing views

Posted Nov 28, 2017
What a lovely hotel! It’s quiet, cosy and the staff do all they can to help. Nothing is too much effort and Shaun made sure our time in Iceland was as good as it could have been by recommending and booking trips and tours for us. We saw the Northern lights dancing above the mountains from our balcony! Lots to choose from at breakfast(the waffles were delicious). We are hoping to go back in the not too distant future as it really was amazing!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

An exiting and unique stay - saw Northern Lights!

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Hotel has quirky decor which we liked, staff extremely helpful and always on hand. We enjoyed using the hot tub which was always available.
Location: Fairly quiet location but close to 2 supermarkets, fast food outlets and on bus route. Short walk to estuary.
We stayed 4 nights. All hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Upgraded to large room with balcony and great views of local area and mountains. We were luckily enough to see the Northern Lights 2 nights running - from the hot tub and our balcony. Hot tub available to use every evening - filled fresh each time! Breakfast was included - the make your own waffles proved popular. We used Gray Line tours for our trips - they pick up/drop off at hotel and were excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calif. usa

Such great staff!

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Orbitz
The staff were excellent towards us. The motel is just so so. Needs some repairs and a little updating and love. Location fine. Saw the best Aurora appearance out our window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife Scotland

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2017
We stayed at Hotel Laxnes for 3 nights. Friendly staff who showed us to our room, and answered any questions/queries we had. Room nice with views over the hills. Breakfast was tasty, highlight was the fresh waffles. There are several shops/fast food/petrol stations next to hotel. We ate at the restaurant between supermarket and bakery both evenings, very good and 10% off if you show room key. Hotel is about 10-15 drive outside Reykjavík, we used Gray Line Iceland for tours with pick up/drop off at the hotel. The other tour company Reykjavík Excursions do not come to hotel so bear this in mind. Service bus 15 stops right outside hotel so it is easy to jump on and head into town if you are not going on an excursion but fancy a walk around town. Bus ticket is 400isk each way.