Ratings based on 384 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Excellent hotel position for top destinations in I

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Situated about 50 mins from the international airport and 30 mins from Reykjavik, the Hotel Laxnes makes a good stopping point between the capital and the tourist destinations in the south and west of the country. The hotel needs a little tender loving care to lift it into 4 out of 5, so its a 3 out of 5 for me. The hotel staff are very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel close enough to Reykyavik city

Posted Aug 29, 2017
It was a nice hotel for my family (2 adults and 2 kids) with a rental car. Easy to drive to Golden circle area and to city center for activities. There is a supermaket, gas station and first food restaurants within walking distance, which was convenient for a quick dinner in our hotel room with exhausted family after doing a lot of activity during the daytime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Shaun , Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind remarks we love having families staying with us the kids love the local swimming pool .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carbondale, IL

Perfect for our needs.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We are a family of 3. Two adults, young child. Water very hot so great showers. Staff very helpful, friendly. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by Shaun , Hotel Management
Thank You so much . Shaun
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Shaun is the best guy to rely on ))) Very helpful

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Outstanding peaceful location Landscape is to die for... Shopping plaza and gas station are close by . Public thermal pool is walking distance too. 10 min and you are beside the sea and 5 min you are in the most beautiful mountains
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Shaun , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind comments ,it was a pleasure meeting you and helping you with your holiday plans.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

May 19 to 26, 2017 - room 15

Posted Jun 5, 2017
This hotel worked out great for my wife and I for this trip. The hotel manager, Shaun, did an amazing job of guiding us around the weather to see the important parts of Iceland. The breakfast were very filling and had bread and cold cuts which we stored for lunch. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was close to the Golden Circle and Reykjavik, and not too far from West Iceland and Blue Lagoon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, USA

Posted May 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location is very convenient. Two supermarkets around the area. KFC is next door!
good location with nice staff. However, this is a motel, not a hotel. The room upstairs widow has a lot wind noise and the hallway has strong scent. The breakfast is very basic.
3 out of 5
by Jarrod

Cheap motel. Helpful staff

Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
Service was amazing. Beds and sheets were extremely small. Everything was very cheap, not worth price paid. Room smelled like moth balls and looked more like a motel than hotel. Decent location. Saw dancing northern lights from the parking lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff helpful nothing was to much trouble for them. Hotel rooms quite spacious views from room was good.Rooms were cleaned daily.
Hotel was in quiet location ,staff very pleasant and helpful, local shops and kfc,subway, just short walk from hotel bus stop across the road best part was watching northern lights above hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great jump off for exploring south east Iceland

Posted Mar 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Easy check in. Less than a block from a bus station and multiple restaurants and grocery stores.