Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

just to expensive

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: every thing is good but you can have better for a lot cheaper
Cons: the price is to high, highest price for hotel I ever had
Location: the location is good, many things nearby
everything is good but just to expensive for what we got, it was the most expensive hotel we ever had in tanzania but not the beat one
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Very nice and trustworthy staff

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The staff are very attentive.
Cons: The wifi is spotty. Sometimes great, sometimes non-existent.
The hotel is a budget hotel in the heart of Moshi. It's a bit noisy in that part of town, but if you're looking for somewhere basic, safe and affordable, this is a fine choice. The staff are very nice and you don't need to worry about anything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Chachar, Hotel Management
Thank you Scott...we really appreciate.Your mostly welcome.God bless you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Moshi has not many good Hotels the Osy Grand is ok

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Location was ok
Cons: Breakfast was very ordinary
Location: location was ok
If you want food don't come here, it as a hotel ok.
1 out of 5
by Rickard

Not worth the money

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
No WiFi. No hot water. Poor Service and they tried to rip us off selling an overpriced airport taxi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Grand let down

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The best thing about the hotel was checking out.
Cons: Where to start...first off, this is possibly just barely a hotel. The rooms are old, extremely dirty, and uncomfortable. Of the 8 light bulbs in our room, 2 worked. At check in we were told we had to print our expdedia booking in order to enter the room, why? not really sure, we just had too. They had a printer at reception and when we asked if we could use it they said no, we must print elsewhere, and then denied they had a printer, even though we were looking at it. Eventually we were let into our room with a promise to print the page before we left. We had booked a queen bed but were give two singles pushed together. The aircon was literally held open by a matchbox, which didn't matter because it didn't work anyway. The wifi is excellent, when you're in the lobby. The wifi does not reach the rooms. Free breakfast I think actually means you are free to get breakfast anywhere but the hotel, as the breakfast offered were some flasks of hot water with tea bags. I had to seriously hold my laughter when the girl at reception asked why we didn't make it to breakfast. The shower was more like a stream of lukewarm water falling from a dirty pipe, and thankfully they only offer two towels and no bath mat, so you have a good chance of dying when you step out of the shower. The TV has one channel, so make sure you bring a book if you're planning on relaxing. Finally, at check out we were still held to the promise of producing the print out from expedia, which I finally made them do.
Location: Central ghetto. Mostly it looked quite dangerous and we were told to just stay inside.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Portland

Stellar views of Kilimanjaro

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
Incredible view of Kilimanjaro from my room and the rooftop made up for the fact that the hotel has seen better days, and only has generators functioning at night. Moshi has increasingly-frequent power outages, so its a region-wide issue, but the hotel does have generators running after dark. However, without 24-hour power, this hotel should NOT have electric card-key door locks (I couldn't get a card until power returned). Service was otherwise fine, although they should inform guests that their generators turn on at dusk (I was expecting a dark night). Room was quite comfortable with stellar views, opening windows with a good breeze kept it cool with power off (AC off), unlike other guests reported. Food was mediocre -- but location affords ample opportunity for restaurants and street food.
4 out of 5
by Hans

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from East Africa

Clean hotel in Moshi city centre

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Rooms are fairly clean and quiet.
Cons: Restaurant could be improved - the staff there seemed tired and demotivated.
Location: Location ok and near shops around the city.
Despite informing the manager that we were in town for the annual Kilimanjaro marathon and breakfast was needed at 5am, he categorically stated that restaurant staff lived far away and could not avail the service at that time though it was a bed/breakfast booking. I did not even have my breakfast after the marathon as there was none! I ran on an empty stomach! Manager needs to be more receptive to genuine client requests.
3 out of 5
by Briana from Sf

Nice room not best service

Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels
Room was great, large and clean. Only got one channel and shower was a small drip. Receptionist gave me a hard time since I had booked with hotels.com but they had no wifi for me to get my reservation. Power went out a lot and no fan so room got really hot. Breakfast was the usual biting egg.
4 out of 5
by dena from Ny, NY

Great budget option

Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels
Its a budget hotel so as long as you keep your expectations low. Even with that said, the staff were all very nice and friendly. The room was large and clean. The shower doors were broken but i didnt bother me. The tv reception was not great. Again, i did not let this bother me. The one thing that was a bit annoying was the lack of wifi in the rooms. It did work well in the restaurant and lobby tho.