Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Karyne

Peaceful and Relaxing

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Anthony and Andre are wonderful and gracious hosts at this luxury Bed and Breakfast. It is beautifully decorated with a fabulous view. The bed is comfortable and the shower wonderful. They really go the extra mile to make their guests comfortable. Our only complaint is internet access in the area is intermittent but that is a problem in Queensland right now.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thankyou so much Karyne and Greg for your wonderful review - very much appreciated and a joy to have you both staying with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Werribee Vic

Quiet and peaceful

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist resorts.
Cons: The accomadation met our needs in comfort and service
Location: The location was central for us, where we could go north to the Daintree west to the Tablelands and south to Cairns & surrounds
Had a relaxing time in a perfect setting with very helpful and attendtiff owners.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great spot

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay to relax in some peace and quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review - much appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We had a lovely time at May Tai resort. A beautiful location and delightful hosts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thank you so much we really appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Wonderful find!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
I planned to go to Port Douglas but every decent place to stay was booked out. But then I saw that there was one room left at the Mai Tai. From the photos it looked pretty good. Well, I'm so glad Port Douglas was booked out. Because this is a way better place to stay (you need a car though). Your hosts are truly marvellous people, who have built something very special over the last 14 years. Decorated in Balinese style, the buildings are beautiful. The views are spectacular, particularly if you go 10 km up to the top of the hill on which the Mai Tai is located. There are only six rooms here, so the combination of the hillside location and the peaceful sounds (mainly birdsong) make for an incredibly restful stay. Your hosts are wonderfully knowledgeable and friendly and every recommendation they made about how I should walk in the Daintree, get to snorkel on the Great Barrier Reef, or just where in Port Douglas or Mossman I should head for dinner, were unfailingly accurate. My only problem with this review is that it may encourage even more people to stay here, thus making it more difficult for me to get in next time. There will definitely be a next time and, I expect, many more after that. Brilliant!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2017 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Hey Spencer .. thank you so much for such a wonderful review. Looking forward to seeing you again at Mai Tai.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great great great we loved it at Mai tai I wanted to stay longer everything was perfect we can not wait to go back,great vibes,breakfast was very tasty,our stay was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your wonderful review and look forward to seeing you both again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Beautiful, tranquil oasis.

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Wotif
Location: It's 20 minutes from Port Douglas so it's not ideal if you want to be in the thick of it... but if you're looking for a quiet rainforest retreat...
The hosts are very affable, informative and caring. The beds are super comfy. The breakfasts are excellent. And the view is sublime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thanks Laurence for your review - hope to see you both in the Tropics again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Stunning

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Wotif
I would go back here in a heart beat, such a beautiful place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane QLD

Mai-Tai Resort

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The view of the place was amazing & the breakie was very nice. Andrei & Anthony the owners are very good host & they help us the good places to visit & to dine-in. Overall we really enjoy our stay at Mai Tai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Personal and Peaceful in a great location !!

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Mai Tai was quiet with a nice garden outside our room with a day bed . There were only 3 other guest rooms so it was peaceful.
Location: Great location ! Only 10 mins to port douglas or Mossman with great restaurants and plenty to see and do .
We found Mai Tai to be a very personal experience with fantastic hosts !! A great location far enough away on the edge of the rainforest but close enough to port douglas and Mossman . It was exactly what my husband and I needed a peaceful place to chill with no kids !! The breakfast was just as amazing as the view !! Highly recommended and look forward to revisiting . Belinda and Darren
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Anthony, Hotel Management
Thanks guys really appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Hope to see you both again.