Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2017
This hotel is fine. The location is lovely on the promenade but the room is basic and a bit shabby. There's nothing particularly wrong about it, just don't have high expectations.
5 out of 5
by junovan

Time out

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
awesome stay was my 2nd time, and still awesome! had to test their new bed as well and boy was it great. felt honoured to do the testing, need to get one in my home as well
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
It would have been good to have a double bed instead of 2 single beds, seeing that we celebrated our anniversary. Find it a bit weird for the staff at the reception desk to speak Afrikaans , when I addressed her in English ?
3 out of 5
by Anton

Was expecting more

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
I was a little underwhelmed by the hotel in total. Rooms could do with some updating an a few more comforts (e.g. the chairs are particularly uncomfortable). Things felt a little sparse. The service was disappointing, with constant problems trying to sign restaurant items too my room. Felt like there is a lot of bureaucracy running the place with staff of the hotel not having that personal touch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Delina

Great Location, Great value.

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
This friendly hotel is perfectly situated on Beach Road. It has panoramic views of the Atlantic over a large public green space. Sit in the restaurant and watch the parade of roller bladers, joggers and dog walkers come and go. Look into buying a pass for MyCiti Bus which has a bus stop right across the road and runs regularly to and from the city. In house restaurant offers a variety of artisanal beers and great food.
3 out of 5
by Zelda

Brilliant front desk staff

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
The check in was very good, the manager on duty was very friendly and helpful, explaining everything about the establishment and the surrounding areas. I had lunch in the restaurant downstairs and that was outstanding. Arriving at the room with the room door wide open and no one in attendance was a bit disturbing. Coffee and tea was supplied, a little disappointing that there was no water in the fridge though.
5 out of 5
by Charles

A real find

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was one of those 'finds', a small, personal hotel with a great cafe/restaurant below. We were delighted when we went into the room to find a balcony off the bedroom and then stairs up to the lounge with another balcony there as well. Both rooms were generous and bright with a diagonal view across the bay (room 302). Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The downstairs cafe was busy all the time, especially Sunday when there was a great collection of people with small dogs (all well behaved, both the dogs and people!!), cyclists, motorcyclists and walkers. However we could hear none of this from our room. Later that evening there was a small band playing great African music and we wondered if this would keep us awake - no trouble, they finished at 7 anyway. The food was excellent; we had lamb confitte which was tasty, tender and plentiful. Try the 'Old Engine Oil' porter if you like a dark beer. The hop-on/off bus (190 rand for the day) stops every 15 minutes immediately across the road (it goes to the base of Table Mountain for the cable car) and a taxi to the port area cost us 80 rand at 11pm. We walked to and from the port area (about an hour each way) and enjoyed the views although it was quite a busy road. We felt safe at all times and would highly recommend it to anyone who likes smaller hotels with character and really good food.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air conditioning not working

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Location I booked I was look penal views on the playground No see view