Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Gorgeous hotel with great staff

Posted Aug 24, 2017
I loved this place. Certainly one of the most welcoming hotels I haver stayed at. Staff are kind and helpful but not intrusive. Excellent food. Will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by Baard

Good base for visiting Perigord

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
A very pleasant stay. Comfortable room, excellent restaurant that I would go back to even if not staying at the hotel (and not expensive!), very pleasant staff who were all english speaking for those of you who struggle with your high school french.Unfortunately it rained the two days we were there, but the pool area looked nice. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Roberta

A beautiful hotel for a special stay

Posted Dec 22, 2016 on Hotels
I chose this hotel as part of celebrations for my husband's special birthday, and it proved ideal. Beautiful old building round a courtyard, lovely ambience, superb food and wine in front of a roaring fire. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and make guests feel totally at home. The location is great for exploring the surrounding region by car, as there's free and ample parking and the hotel isn't far off the main road.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kerrie from Melbourne

Fabulous spot to visit

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was fabulous very relaxing and enjoyable and understated. The restaurant was fabulous and the setting amazing with candelabra and candles lit at night. The staff were friendly obliging and engaging. We loved it. The pool area was also great
5 out of 5
by Amy

Superb

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Another wonderful stay at chateau les merles. Service and food are excellent. Great place to get away and relax
5 out of 5
by Ferlin from London

June 2016 family trip 4 days

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
The chateau is located in a remote countryside with stunning views. It is very quiet and peaceful. The staff including Reiner (who speaks 5 languages),Aud, Lorita and the rest are what made our stay there special. They all speak english and are very attentive, professional and helpful. Taxis are expensive and public transport is limited so you will need a car ( or hire one frombergerac airport which is 20 mins by car away). The pools are very clean, the grounds and golf course are well maintained and the tennis court is well kept. The chefs cook amazing fresh to order french cuisine and the desserts are sublime. Good for a quiet relaxing break which is made that much special by the service the staff provide and the great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice Chateau close to Bergerac and the Airport

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: Everything.
A fantastic Hotel with very helpful and accommodating staff who all spoke English to a good level. The hotel restaurant was a delight to eat in, with food being produced to a good standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a gem fantastic

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Just stay here. 50 miles from motorway. Wonderful setting. Perfect size all guests get to know each other. Peace service clean wonderful staff. Great and I mean great food. This place is a gem please enjoy it. The scenery is just to die for. It's not expensive. You can relax by the pool or on the terrace. You can have dinner in the court yard under the stars what a lovely place to be. The furnishings and fittings are lovely. The room spot on. I was nearly put off prior to booking by a stupid review I am so glad I chose this place. Rooms are huge views amazing. You can relax over dinner read a book or lose you self in thought. There were young children by the pool and they were so well behaved this is a place for those appreciate the finer things in life. Probably go back for new year. Romantic a true French retreat the cliche lives.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice modern update in an old chateau. It's great to be on a property with a golf course and tennis courts, plus a fabulous restaurant. The food is really wonderful and this is a top tier restaurant. Fabulous! Will love to go back.