Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kerrie from Melbourne

Fabulous spot to visit

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
It was fabulous very relaxing and enjoyable and understated. The restaurant was fabulous and the setting amazing with candelabra and candles lit at night. The staff were friendly obliging and engaging. We loved it. The pool area was also great
5 out of 5
by Amy

Superb

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Another wonderful stay at chateau les merles. Service and food are excellent. Great place to get away and relax
5 out of 5
by Ferlin from London

June 2016 family trip 4 days

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
The chateau is located in a remote countryside with stunning views. It is very quiet and peaceful. The staff including Reiner (who speaks 5 languages),Aud, Lorita and the rest are what made our stay there special. They all speak english and are very attentive, professional and helpful. Taxis are expensive and public transport is limited so you will need a car ( or hire one frombergerac airport which is 20 mins by car away). The pools are very clean, the grounds and golf course are well maintained and the tennis court is well kept. The chefs cook amazing fresh to order french cuisine and the desserts are sublime. Good for a quiet relaxing break which is made that much special by the service the staff provide and the great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice Chateau close to Bergerac and the Airport

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: Everything.
A fantastic Hotel with very helpful and accommodating staff who all spoke English to a good level. The hotel restaurant was a delight to eat in, with food being produced to a good standard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a gem fantastic

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Just stay here. 50 miles from motorway. Wonderful setting. Perfect size all guests get to know each other. Peace service clean wonderful staff. Great and I mean great food. This place is a gem please enjoy it. The scenery is just to die for. It's not expensive. You can relax by the pool or on the terrace. You can have dinner in the court yard under the stars what a lovely place to be. The furnishings and fittings are lovely. The room spot on. I was nearly put off prior to booking by a stupid review I am so glad I chose this place. Rooms are huge views amazing. You can relax over dinner read a book or lose you self in thought. There were young children by the pool and they were so well behaved this is a place for those appreciate the finer things in life. Probably go back for new year. Romantic a true French retreat the cliche lives.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice modern update in an old chateau. It's great to be on a property with a golf course and tennis courts, plus a fabulous restaurant. The food is really wonderful and this is a top tier restaurant. Fabulous! Will love to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely, charming hotel and great staff!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Beautiful building and grounds, incredibly friendly and accommodating staff, evening meals at the restaurant.
Location: Peaceful location. Try canoeing on the Dordogne & visit to the Gardens of Marqueyssac (1 hr away) if you can - esp in Jul/Aug for the candlelit eves.
It's always a good sign when you stay at a hotel and many of your fellow guests are return visitors! My husband and I stayed at the Chateau les Merles for 6 nights and really enjoyed our visit. The staff are great - nothing was too much trouble. We had a really warm welcome with a complimentary glass of sparkling champagne and nibbles and the staff were equally good with families and young children. We ate dinner at the restaurant 4 times. The food and wine was very reasonably priced - especially the 3 course menus - and the candlelit courtyard setting was especially lovely. There is a pool service for the day between 10.30am and 3.30pm, where you can order sandwiches/chips and drinks, which was again very reasonably priced. The pool itself is lovely, gated and surrounded by lavender, with beautiful views. It is quite fresh but that it needed with the very hot weather! There is plenty to see and do in the surrounding areas but you will need a car to get around to most sites(although I did see some visitors to the restaurant arrive by taxi). We don't often stay at the same hotel twice but will happily be making an exception here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Excellent Hotel close to Bergerac

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Very comfortable room in historic Hotel, with outstanding restaurant and most caring staff throughout.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family break

Posted Jul 3, 2015 on Hotels
Staff very attentive and restaurant area particularly pleasant, with gorgeous food. Slightly let down by the room however. We stayed in room 1 (double). It was a little bit of a shame to be greeted with a UPVC door in such a lovely building. The layout of the bathroom was also poor, due to the fact that it was very hard to reach the taps without being in the bath. Overall though, a really nice stay made extra special by the warmth of the staff.