Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Absolutely awful time trying to get my reservation to cross over. Took two calls to Expedia support line and over an hour on the phone. The hotel itself was clean, quiet, comfortable and convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Patricia from Anonymous

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Dirty room, poor daily cleaning service, 2 thin towels for 4 people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

less than expected.

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
i booked this hotel for a wedding, I wouldn't have stayed otherwise. Horrible water pressure, stain on the bed comforter , and no thermostat on the HVAC unit - so it was either hot or cold in the room. The check-in time took a while, even though I already paid. They asked me to fill in address/ name info that I already did on the website - why do they require it on the web when I'm just going to fill it in again? Also, the lock to the adjoining event center didn't take my card, and the receptionist was aware of the problem but seemed to brush it under the table, stating it was just sensitive. I will say, the rest of the service was nice, as they allowed me to check in early due to the wedding, and read my request to have a room away from the ice machines, stair wells, etc. I liked the pillows and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast looked lackluster, so I didn't eat it,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: The hotel was in a good and central location in proximity to our event.
Cons: The cleanliness and room readiness.
The floors of the room were wet and moldy. We had to transfer rooms due to the smell and mold. The cleanliness fo the room was not up to par.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Worn and Broken Rooms

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel lobby clean but in the room the toilet seat and bath tub had visible breaks in the finish. On our 2nd night we returned to find the directional vent cover OFF of the air conditioner...(broken off while we were gone?!) Maintenance replaced the missing cover with one that was cracked! Looking out the window pane was curious because the exterior pane was broken. Perhaps we shouldn't have opened the curtain?! Excluding those perks we did not have a coffee pot in the room as advertised. Towels were rough and I can only say that I had to ask for my sheets to be changed. I will never stay in AmericInn again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

American of mounds view minnesota

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Pros: desk staff were very pleasant but could not make up for the room
Cons: updating the mattresses carpets and cleaning the bathroom
Location: good location had our itinerary already planned so we didn't look for things to do nearby
late check in because room wasn't ready. when we got into room it wasn't all that clean kind of dingy looking not what you would expect for 111.00 pretty disappointed will not be looking at American for any other lodging
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015
The room was clean. We all enjoyed the pool with a slide. The bowling alley and game room was a fun surprise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan from Hamilton, ON.

Good room, bad rep.

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel has a bad rap based on reviews. It's not in a great neighborhood but is about 20 minutes from Mall of America and Target Field. When we arrived, the room that hotels.com booked for us was not available but they put us in a suite at no charge. Room was comfortable but not as clean as it could have been. Pool area was very nice. Staff at the desk were amazing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Molly from Council Bluffs, IA

Fun for kids

Posted Aug 2, 2015 on Hotels
Our family had fun here, and we would stay here again. The pool slide and bowling alley/arcade were fun. The pool is open late. The food at the Mermaid restaurant and bowling alley was good and decently priced. Our only complaint was that the carpet in our room was damp everywhere, which made me uneasy. The free breakfast was fine, even had eggs and bacon. My kids really liked this place.