Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not at all what we expected

Posted Feb 5, 2016
I expected a little more updated room. The website said it had free internet (there was a computer in the lobby), but no wifi and the cell service was very poor. It also said there was a grocery store. There was only a little shop with a few items: chips, some ice cream, candy and pop. There was a restaurant and bar, but we didn't try either one of these. The restaurant looked nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

It was a perfect scenario for a horror movie

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Had hot water in the shower and good heaters including the electric fire place.
Cons: STAFF the Resort with people like Rhonda who work and dedicate their work in the Hospitality field and Hire employees who can handle F&B properly.
Location: It's in the mountains with beautiful views. Perfect for hiking, bike riding and of course skiing.
Where do I begin? Hotel Impossible should go there and re-vamp the staff except Rhonda at the Front Desk and the bar and restaurant. To start out, had no idea that there was a Mt Charleston Lodge as well as The Resort. Could use some signs on the road?? While checking in there was only 1 front desk attendant (Rhonda) Had to wait while she was taking care of a reservation on the phone. Was looking forward to a nice meal for dinner but was shut down by the Hostess/Server/Busser at the restaurant. Because she was the only one doing everything we had to make a reservation which we refused. We went to the Bar for some food but was really disappointed with the cleanliness, but since we were so hungry we stayed and ordered two items. The new bartender/server that was coming in was RUDE to her guests. She had to have said the word "Sorry" over 50's times before, during, after she took the order. The other issue we had was there was NO soap. Rhonda the front desk attendant said it was ordered but never received shipment yet...How does one run a Resort?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Depends what you're looking for

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Location Seclusion Possibility of relaxing
Cons: Charm Wifi Key to sauna did not work Option for hot tub
Location: Mount Charleston ski area was near by 45 minute drive from Las Vegas
We were looking for somewhere peaceful and relaxing but I did not find that it had the amenities I was looking for gave us a relaxing stay. Additionally, there was not much concern when I mentioned to the front desk that the WiFi was not working. If it advertises wifi it should be able to supply it. The contract I signed when checking in said it was not responsible if the wifi did not work... It has a ton of possibility though. Great location, secluded, could be cozy mountain chalet feel if more was put into it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Recife

Vale a pena !

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Do acesso. Muito aconchegante e limpo ! Boa comida. Vale a pena !
Cons: Ter um mais opção no cardápio para o clima frio como carnes na chapa e no óleo. Ter o fondue de queijo.
Location: Muito boa. Excelente acesso !
Foi muito boa. A subida para chegar ao hotel é muito suave e vale a penas ficar lá. Ele fica próximos de pontos para brincar com a neve e fazer um boneco de neve. Muito bom ! Ele fica a 40 minutos de Las Vesgas em um caminho seguro e lindo ! Vale a pena jantar lá !
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

unacceptable!

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: QUIET
Cons: THE ROOM SERVICE THE ROOMS NEED MAJOR ATTENTION "HEALTH WISE!"
Location: NOTHING NEAR BY.... YOU WANT SOMETHING TO DO YOU HAVE TO GO DOWN THE HILL TO LAS VEGAS
from purchasing online to NYE dinner! disgusted!!!! 2. the communication regarding the purchasing of our room online to not being told our NYE DINNER WAS NOT INCLUDED!!!! DISGUSTED WITH THE STAFFS COMMUNICATION.. 3, HUSBAND HAD ASTHMA ISSUES DUE TO MOLD IN OUR ROOM.. 4. WERE TOLD THE MANAGER WOULD CONTACT US CONCERNING OUR NYE DINNER BILL. "NEVER RECEIVED A CALL!".. UNPROFESSIONAL
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monterrey park, ca

romantic resort

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: its beautiful
Location: hiked the Mary Jane Falls and the Big Falls Trails on day one hiked Red Rock Canyon, TurtleHead Pk on day two
stayed the weekend and surprised my boyfriend for his birthday
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was clean & the people were wonderful.

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Location: About an hour north of Vegas. Lots of joshua tress and beautiful panoramic views of the open desert. Altitudes of almost 9000' make the camera popular
They were setting up for Christmas in the lobby, so Santas and holly were all about and it made it feel like a mountain snow chalet. Our reservation was confirmed easily and check in went smoothly. We liked the restaurant selections and enjoyed Meat Stew and Chili in lovely respite from the chill outside. The rooms are spacious and clean. We had the pond view rather than the boulder view. We saw a cute little fox with a bushy tail and adorable ears. Check out the vintage pinball games in the lobby. They are fun! The only thing I would want to share that was not a negative for us but could be for others, is that your luggage has to be hauled up stairs. If you have mobility issues or heavy luggage, use the bell hop, or ask for one. One was not offered, but we had almost no luggage as we only stayed one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

5 year anniversary was almost a disaster.

Posted Nov 13, 2015
I'm never one to complain but there were just too many things that went wrong. On a positive note, the front desk was excellent, friendly, and super helpful. The first bad experience was at dinner. We waited in the front of the restaurant about 15 minutes before someone even came to greet us, and when they did it was the chef who did not look presentable or hygienic at all. The restaurant was a disaster, the waitress seemed like she was crazy busy but there was only 4 tables total, us included. She complained how she'd never get out of there, but at least acknowledged what a train wreck the place was. The food ended up being good surprisingly. We stopped by the bar after our dinner and the bartender was very friendly and greeted us upon arrival. After we went up to our room and started getting ready for bed. Every single heater did not work in the room. We decided it was ok because we didn't feel like transferring all of our stuff at 11 at night to another room and just used the extra blanket in the closet area. When we laid our heads down there was a strong odor of mildew and sweat on ALL of the pillows. We could not even use them. At this time I was ready to just call it quits and go home. We had barely any sleep due to no pillows and the walls were so thin you could hear people and their entire conversations. We ate at the restaurant again for breakfast and had a great meal and much better server, and we went home but unfortunately won't be back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Lauren

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was comfortable and clean, the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Beware, though - the wifi is satellite-based, and we weren't able to get online at all during the 24 hours we were there. That wouldn't have been a problem, had we not had to get a little work done during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Good place to stay, comfortable. Niece for a couple trip.