Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely break

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Peaceful and friendly
Cons: Possibly the variety of pool snack options but we had two fab lunches of tuna salad and to be honest, not many people were around the pool at lunch
Location: Well placed for Etna, Taormina, and we even drove to Syracuse on our last day.
We stayed for four nights in this lovely hotel. The staff are friendly and the restaurant is fab. They arranged an Etna tour with Alessandro and he was the perfect guide. We are much more knowledgeable about Volcanoes now!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Somerset UK

Beautiful setting, but not so tranquil in season

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Views, cleanliness & location.
Cons: Please warn couples who are coming to relax that it can be very noisy and overrun by families in the school holidays.
Location: Mt Etna.Take time to explore the villages on the mountain Naxos. Seaside resort with history Taormina. Lots of history narrow streets & cafe bars
Beautiful setting and the hotel courtyard and buildings are full of character but if you're expecting to relax by the pool don't go in European school holidays, most days it was overrun with undisciplined children and ignorant parents. A good base to tour from, and you DEFINITELY need a car as there are only a couple of restaurants and bars close by otherwise you will have to eat in the adjacent restaurant every night where there is a fixed menu, but the food and service is excellent. (Pool side snacks at the hotel are only available from midday.) We paid for an upgraded room which only means that it has views of Mt Etna. The room itself was clean and simply decorated, but dark and gloomy as the only natural light came from a window at the end of a narrow corridor which housed the room's wardrobe. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful which was just as well as the safe had been removed from our room and we had to keep our money and valuables at reception, which was, we felt as much an inconvenience to them as it was to us! There are guide books that you can borrow and return in reception about the island and access to a laptop computer. There are various Wi Fi codes for the property and the signal tends to drop out as you move around the hotel grounds. A word of warning about driving in Sicily, they are absolutely crazy. The driving is very aggressive! You need strong nerves on the main roads or built up areas, but once you get out to Etna and the villages it's ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, service, and food were excellent
Cons: It is a bit odd that the hotel would charge to use pool towels.
Location: Great location to take excursions to the Etna ad merely 6 miles away from Taormina and Giardini Naxos
One of the best experiences I have had in Italy. Great location, lovely facility and excellent staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by dana, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. The overcharge of € 2 for the pool towels allows us to have them cleaned and sterilized, to make them available for new guests. Since this service is provided by an outside laundry, it's an extra cost for us. best regards, Dana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The hotel is in Giarre in Catania. The facilities are good and value for money. The reception staff were efficient and very helpful, although we found one particular receptionist rather abrasive and impatient with customers. The restaurant provides good authentic Italian cuisine; however, the menu is fixed and there is very little variation. A car is essential to get around since the hotel itself is quite isolated. That said, the facilities were good and we had a lovely, quiet family holiday. We were without hot water for a few hours on day 3 of our stay but this was quickly rectified.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and wonderful setting

Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a bit plain but very clean and easy to access. We really loved the buffet breakfast and the setting for our morning meal was wonderful. The restaurant on the property had very good food and the décor was really nice. We enjoyed the swimming pool and the surrounding setting. The only negative for us was initially trying to locate the hotel when our GPS wasn't working.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exceptional value for money.

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
An excellent and convenient hotel for exploring the area around Etna. Stay marred only by position of hotel adjacent to a noisy road. But for that every aspect would have been 5/5.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unique experience & atmosphere!!

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
We spent 30 days touring Sicily -stayed in 18 different Towns around the island & each was unique. From a B & B to the Eurostars Palace, each area was an amazing adventure. Your location & accomadations were one of our favorites. Thanks for your warm hospitality & kindness. John Duncan & Celine Teeson, Vermont, USA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel with a view of Etna

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Nicely appointed rooms, very clean, nice breakfast. It's in a lovely location. The pool area and pool bar are great to relax.
Cons: More signs on the road en route.
Location: Giarre is not the best place in the world but Mt Etna, Taormina and Catania more than make up for it.
This is a really nice base to explore Eastern Sicily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

beautiful and peaceful

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: The views, the flowers and the character - its is over 200 years old and all the rooms are different.
Location: The beach is pleasant although it is better to drive there. Mount Etna and Taormina are close by and it is about 90 minutes drive to Syracuse.
The views are fantastic and the rooms comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is varied and relaxed. The pool is lovely and there are plenty of sunbeds. The restaurant serves lovely food in the evening although the menu is limited so you would need to go out if staying for a while.The whole hotel is an attractive oasis. However, when you leave the hotel Giarre itself has little to offer. It is a 30 minute walk to the beach along dirty rubbish strewn roads that don't always have pavements. In the evenings it is a 40 minute walk to the centre where there are some restaurants but it is easy to get a taxi back. I would recommend the hotel as a place for some relaxation and as a base to visit Etna and Taormina which are both relatively close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Great hotel at foot of mount etna. Family and I really enjoyed our stay at Mount Etna Hotel. Staff really friendly and helpful. Room excellent and pool was brilliant. Thanks for a great week.