Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typical resort, for better and worse

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice room, grounds, and building. Extensive buffet breakfast. These are the Goods. The Bads are: 1) Wanted to bill me personally again at check-out, even though I had paid Hotels.com two months prior (they finally figured out they were to charge Expedia, the Hotels.com parent company). 2) Want to swim in the pool? Well, you need a swimming cap that they'll sell you for a few euros--this is just nickle-and diming. And the minibar charges are high. 3) Mostly impersonal staff. 4) It is in the middle of nowhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Needs some attention

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Some staff very serious, not very welcoming
Location: We stayed at the hotel for 3 days, didn't travel, played golf and used the spa and pool.
Overall ok, golf was very good but difficult course that makes you hire a buggy. staff could be friendlier. So glad we had half board, as food was not worth the prices on the menu, but it was value for money at the half board rates. air conditioning was off in October even though it was warm. A few uncomfortable sleepless nights.
5 out of 5
by Fabio

awesome stay!

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
My wife, my 1 yr old daughter and I were there in August 2016 for one night and had a great stay. Very quite palce to relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Comfortable stay

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Wotif
We really enjoyed our time here. We were so well looked after from the minute we arrived until we left. Nothing was any trouble for the staff. Breakfast was very nice. Facilities were excellent . Our only complaint would be that our room was near a lift and we could hear it clunking throughout the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

A Mt Etna Jewel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Simply everything. Very welcoming and cheerful staff.
Location: The hotel is very close to the town of Castiglione Di Sicilia perched on a craggy hill top with narrow streets, amazing churches and old forts
This hotel has everything if you like to play golf on an amazing golf course with striking views of Mt Etna, or great spa, pool and fitness facilities, superb restaurant, large and unique collection of Maria Leonardi Pennisi paintings in the rooms and every bare wall in this handsomely designed building in the Roman Villa style.
5 out of 5
by Flemming from Los Angeles

A magnificent hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
Il Picciolo was a very clean and luxurious hotel that we thought was great value. It was a perfect location for spending a day doing donkey trekking at Mt Etna. The staff were so helpful, giving us great dinner recommendations and we spent quite a while chatting to the very friendly bartender in the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sheffield uk

Superb hotel excellent location

Posted May 11, 2015
Fantastic hotel with superb views of mount etna and the golf course. amazing staff at your call with beautiful spacious rooms restaurant silver service outstanding all the team at Etna golf resort from reception,bar restaurant and golf can't do enough for you they are remarkable. Can't wait to go back!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, England.

Quiet inland location.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: It was quiet, and had air conditioned rooms with plenty of space to store our clothes.
Cons: The gardens around the hotel and along side the car park could be maintained better.
Location: The hotel is located very near to Mount Etna where you can join organised trips to the summit. Visit the hillside town of Taormina.
This Hotel is in a lovely location near the town of Linguaglossa. It has a great outdoor swimming pool, with changing facilities and showers. Outside the hotel has views of Mount Etna and a well maintained golf course. The staff were very professional and helpful, even though some of them do not speak very good English. Breakfast was from 7.00am to 10.00 am and we were provided with a good choice of food. As we were only staying on a bed and breakfast basis, we only had one evening meal which was lovely, but a little bit pricey. We had a double room which was very roomy even with a king size bed. It was kept very clean by the staff and the en suite included both bath and shower. I would definitely reccommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A very nice hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014
An excellent hotel set against a stunning backdrop of Mount Etna and next to an exclusive golf course. Well appointed room, with good facilities and air conditioning. Our room overlooked part of the golf course and had a shared balcony. Very nice swimming pool. We did use the restaurant on our first night. The food was of reasonable quality but a large party of schoolchildren were also in residence so it was not exactly a peaceful experience! We had to wait a long time for service and the portions were small. Free WiFi is available but there is a problem with its compatibility with iPad and iPhone connectivity so we were unable to take advantage. The hotel is a little off the beaten track, but this allows for a very peaceful and relaxing stay and a there is plenty to see in the vicinity if you have transport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Comfortable, spacious hotel with magnificent views

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Location, views of Etna, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful pool, excellent breakfast buffet, great lunch at golf club. Spaciousness. Satellite TV.
Cons: Multi gym machine in the fitness centra was broken. Wifi was not working.
Location: Good height above sea level. Cool in the evening. Great views of Etna eruption.
We spent four nights here in August. It was an excellent base to visit other locations.