Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and welcoming hotel on the slopes of Etna

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
I spent three very agreeable nights at Sotto il Vulcano. It is a friendly, family run business which, as the name suggests, is ideally placed for those wishing to explore Etna and the surrounding national park. Antonella is a most welcoming and helpful hostess who is able to advise on all the various options, while her husband specialises in cycling tours. Fortunately for me, non-cyclists are also superbly catered for: there is free parking on site and the hotel is close enough to Catania and the autostrada to make day trips to Syracuse, Taormina etc easy, while offering peace, quiet and mountain air at the end of the day. The small town of Nicolosi has a number of excellent evening eating options within 20 minutes walk though they need to go some to match the breakfast spread provided by Antonella! All in all, I heartily recommend Sotto il Vulcano and will be looking to return there in the future.
5 out of 5
by Johanne & Mario from Montreal (Canada)

Very pleasant stay at "Sotto il Vulcano"

Posted Jun 9, 2013 on Hotels
Upon our arrival we received a friendly and warm welcome from our hosts. A lot of information concerning the activities possibile (Etna) was available and they actively organised the expedition. The host's knowledge of the English language was very helpful.. Our stay at "Sotto il vulcano" was thus very enjoyable and restfull. We highly recommand this B&B.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Asbury, NJ

Excellent B&B for Etna

Posted Oct 26, 2011 on Hotels
This is a comfortable, clean and welcoming B&B. The hosts are great and treat everyone like family. A great breakfast is served at one big table where there was much talking and lauging - in several languages. Hosts Antonella and Salvatore reminded us many times that they were "at our disposal". They were helpful with planning and very knowledgable about local sites. Kitchen is available for use by guests throughout the afternoon and evening, a small local supermarket is nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best hospitality in Sicily

Posted Oct 19, 2011 on Hotels
The friendliest nicest B&B in sicily. Amazing breakfast, very close to Etna. Highly recommended!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland,UK

Sicilian hospitality at its BEST !!

Posted Jul 8, 2010
This was a great place to stay. Room was comfortable and clean,bedding changed regularily. Breakfast was excellent,fresh and good choice.Antonella and Salvo were superb hosts,they made you feel at home and are very informative about the area.( Also very helpful when I required medication) This is the place to be to visit Mt. Etna. We booked 3 nights but were able to stay 2 more and visited other places on the Island recommended by our hosts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from clermont ferrand

GENIAL

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Je ne fais que répéter les avis précédents. Excellent accueil d'Antonella et de Salvo. Nous sommes restés malheureusement qu'une seule nuit et avons savouré qu'un seul petit déjeuner. Salvo s'est levé tôt pour nous éplucher des figues de barbarie avant notre journée à l'Etna, réservée par leur intermédiaire auprès de Pietro, super guide parlant très bien Français. L'excursion en sa compagnie était géniale ! A recommander
5 out of 5
by dominique

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toulouse

très très accueillant

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: l'accueil très chaleureux
Cons: quelques problèmes avec l'eau et l'electricité, mais rien de grave
Location: à 30 km de l'aéroport de catane et tout près du volcan
arrivée tardive mais nous avons été accueillies de façon remarquable : nous avons eu un en cas copieux, les conseils de visites, petit déjeuner très agréable avec jus de fruits frais, confitures maison, laitages, gâteaux.... à volonté et dans un cadre familial. Les conseil de notre hôte ont été appréciables pour la visite de l'Etna
5 out of 5
by jdestoppani

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michel from Gras

Adresse superbe à ne pas manquer pour voir l'Etna

Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
Accueil ,sejour, conseils tout est excellent .