Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TX

Nice quiet motel in quiet town

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Spotless!
Location: Lots of hiking and fishing nearby. There are a couple of excellent restaurants in Methven and pubs.
I enjoy the small town of Methven and always stay at this motel. It is clean and quiet. The rooms range from small to larger, but are always clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Very obliging landlord, very accommodating

Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location. Off street parking. Quiet.
Location: Handy to village
Very happy with this accommodation choice. Clean, tidy, helpful landlord. Provided maps, relevant information, etc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

family ski break

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
We were surprised that we had to pay for the use of the spa ($30/h) - but it did mean that we had the spa to ourselves. The lounge area was lovely, with an open fire. However, we were asked to leave the lounge at 10pm and it was not open again until the next evening. We were unable to buy any drinks / coffee from the bar.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Wotif
5 out of 5
by Rob from New Zealand - Christchurch

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Excellent service
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from New Zealand - Christchurch

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Friendly staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ward from Australia

Nice place to stay

Posted May 11, 2014
Pros: Bed was comfy, bathroom basic but OK & good heating.
Cons: No chairs in the room. People who can't park properly causing only 2 cars to fit in 3 spots.
Location: Walking distance to town centre & restaurants. The Brown Pub serves up a great baked dinner & the Old Post Office is an excellent restaurant.
Close to other facililities in Methven, staff very friendly & helpful, which is what you want.
2 out of 5
by Mary from Canterbury, NZ

Posted Dec 28, 2013
Pros: Centrally situated. Good kitchen facilities Very comfortable bed. Spacious living and dining room
Cons: The unfriendly attitude of the [male] proprietor when asked to help us get the television to work. The lighting in the lodge is abysmal. No heater.
We received a warm welcome from the female proprietor. The lodge is spacious, comfortable and clean (except for the windows). The lighting, except in the bathroom, is abysmal. There needs to be a small electric heater available for use in the sitting room on a cool summer's evening. We did not want nor need the heat of the log-burner for an hour of television watching.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice to have a spa, good sized rooms

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Great reception and help from hosts, Methven is a great little place and the skiing was FABULOUS