Ratings based on 2,052 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Summerville sc

Unsatisfied

Posted Dec 3, 2017
We were only staying one night due to Company Christmas Party on the Yorktown. We were not using any parts of the resort other than room and one cup of coffee. Still charged resort fee. We were given directions by front staff to take a five minute walk to the venue. It took 35 minutes as we were sent down walkways to dead end and over fields sign posted snakes and alligators. I think your staff need to walk to the York town for future customers. Bed was hard. Had to jiggle handle on toilet to fill and then it continued running. Bath panel was off, grouting around tub was mildew. Also charged a further $50 for incidentals!!!! Hopefully, we will get that back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from longs, SC

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Located very convent to Charleston and surrounding historical locations. An attractive facility; while quite and peaceful, very central to many local convinces.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Some Good Some Bad

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: Great Location
Cons: Renovate the Southest wing.
We were initially put in a room that was on the third floor above the hotel laundry. Even on the third floor we could hear the commercial laundry machines vibrating up the structure. We were moved to the other wing to a very nice room on the second day but they have a serious problem in the Southeast wing. The room in the Southeast wing was also pretty "tired". This were generally beat up, they are due for some renovations. The return air vent on the HVAC was totally blocked with fuzz, almost no air was getting through.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

4.5 star hotel? really?

Posted Nov 29, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: not adverting a rate then add oodles of extra "fees"
Location: played golf a the golf course on the property, they did not offer a resort rate
Great location, beautiful looking building from the outside. When searching hotels in the Charleston area for a 1 night business trip, I was looking for a good deal on an off season time for a quick one night stay (less then 12hrs at hotel) I found this 4.5 star hotel, normal $189 room going for $119, then "your added fees and taxes" made it $136, then when I checked in an additional $22 resort charge (huh?) But the resort offered "free internet" and "free parking" (huh, free parking? They have a lot that holds a 1000 cars and there was only 20 cars in the whole lot) After a smooth check in, I entered the room, it was nice, bright and clean but "tiny" for a resort room. Then the ac/heater kicked on, it sounded like an ac unit at a 1970's cheap hotel chain so I turned it "off" for a quiet night only to find the 2ft x 2ft cube fridge humming like a major city electric transform station, so I unplugged that. After sleeping the night I woke to make coffee, coffee make didn't work, called the desk they have no replacement so I went down to the lobby to get my coffee. I asked about breakfast and they did not offer anything but I could go to the restaurant in the resort complex. I order some fruit, a small yogurt, and coffee that cost an additional $12. So my $119 room ended up costing me $170, so I saved about a whole woooooo full $20 on a night 4.5 star hotel stay. I think I could have stayed at a Red Roof, with breakfast for $75. What a disappointing 12hrs, ugh!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Can't wait to come back

Posted Nov 26, 2017
This place is beautiful. Very classic, luxurious feel. Better prices than downtown but they have so much more to offer, better views, and free shuttles and a water taxi (additional cost) to get you to and from downtown. Lots to do and very family friendly. The spa was a wonderful experience. The staff were also very accommodating and friendly. We loved everything about our stay and can't wait to come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Marina hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The hotel has a nice setting overlooking the marina, but it is terribly dated and needs an upgrade. There is only one decent restaurant within walking distance, but others are a ten minute drive away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not Good...

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Location is nice, convenient to downtown and beach areas.
Cons: This resort is older and was probably very nice in its prime....however, it is way overdue for an update. Also food choices are minimal
We checked in after 12+ hours on the road, were tired and ready for a rest. When we got to the room, we found a dryer/blower sitting outside the room and soggy carpet outside our door and directly inside the room, along with a damp smell. Apparently a leak had occurred which the resort was seemingly aware of due to the presence of the blower. We went back to request a room change and were downgraded...which although we weren't happy, we accepted it due to our exhaustion! Next day was okay but then we awoke on day 3 to no hot water! This was the last straw and we went back to the desk asking for compensation of some sort due to all of our inconvenience and unacceptable experience. We were then upgraded to a suite for the one remaining night. Did it make up for us? Was nice(r) but the whole experience has left a bad taste in my mind....do not recommend this resort as I believe there are much nicer for the same money!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Disappointed

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Had stayed in this hotel years ago and i was impressed then, but was extremely disappointed this year with the hotel. Requested coffee for our coffee maker that was never brought. I had to call and request my invoice be corrected 3 different times. Cleaning staff entered room when the "Do not disturb" was posted. Our luggage appeared to be dug through and clothes scattered on the bed. Left a bottle of an alcoholic beverage in the room when we went out for the day and a portion of it was gone when we returned. The bee was made disastrously, etc. Not worth the price of a resort hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful resort

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Extremely quiet and comfortable stay in lush setting. Shuttle provided to downtown. Within walking distance of of beautiful Ravenel bridge, parks, and Patriots Point. Enjoyed heated pool, hot tub, poolside tikki bar and restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Don’t stay here.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Booked a king room. Said wasn’t guaranteed and said they could give us one, but it would be much smaller with no balcony. All pics show balconies overlooking water. Ours overlooked roof of building next door. Switches, lights, fixtures in bathroom broken. Reported. Said would send someone up to fix right away. Stayed there another day and they never showed up. All kinds of extra charges on bill like “resort fee” adding up to about 40.00 a day extra.