Ratings based on 2,268 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Marina hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The hotel has a nice setting overlooking the marina, but it is terribly dated and needs an upgrade. There is only one decent restaurant within walking distance, but others are a ten minute drive away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Not Good...

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Location is nice, convenient to downtown and beach areas.
Cons: This resort is older and was probably very nice in its prime....however, it is way overdue for an update. Also food choices are minimal
We checked in after 12+ hours on the road, were tired and ready for a rest. When we got to the room, we found a dryer/blower sitting outside the room and soggy carpet outside our door and directly inside the room, along with a damp smell. Apparently a leak had occurred which the resort was seemingly aware of due to the presence of the blower. We went back to request a room change and were downgraded...which although we weren't happy, we accepted it due to our exhaustion! Next day was okay but then we awoke on day 3 to no hot water! This was the last straw and we went back to the desk asking for compensation of some sort due to all of our inconvenience and unacceptable experience. We were then upgraded to a suite for the one remaining night. Did it make up for us? Was nice(r) but the whole experience has left a bad taste in my mind....do not recommend this resort as I believe there are much nicer for the same money!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sc

Disappointed

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Had stayed in this hotel years ago and i was impressed then, but was extremely disappointed this year with the hotel. Requested coffee for our coffee maker that was never brought. I had to call and request my invoice be corrected 3 different times. Cleaning staff entered room when the "Do not disturb" was posted. Our luggage appeared to be dug through and clothes scattered on the bed. Left a bottle of an alcoholic beverage in the room when we went out for the day and a portion of it was gone when we returned. The bee was made disastrously, etc. Not worth the price of a resort hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful resort

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: Everything
Extremely quiet and comfortable stay in lush setting. Shuttle provided to downtown. Within walking distance of of beautiful Ravenel bridge, parks, and Patriots Point. Enjoyed heated pool, hot tub, poolside tikki bar and restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Don’t stay here.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Booked a king room. Said wasn’t guaranteed and said they could give us one, but it would be much smaller with no balcony. All pics show balconies overlooking water. Ours overlooked roof of building next door. Switches, lights, fixtures in bathroom broken. Reported. Said would send someone up to fix right away. Stayed there another day and they never showed up. All kinds of extra charges on bill like “resort fee” adding up to about 40.00 a day extra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Clean, friendly staff, great location

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: I loved the decor and location. Wish I had more time to take in the grounds. Easy access Charleston and other sights.
Cons: The only improvement I would make is the shower head. The spray pattern was poor.
This hotel is located water directly across from Charleston. Convenient to Charleston and other interesting points of interest. The rooms were clean, the staff were friendly an altogether pleasant experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Charleston. Very colorful beachy decor. I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Nov 16, 2017
First stay in a resort and we were overwhelmed by our stay. It was great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful upscale feel hotel/ marina.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: landscaping, shuttle downtown
Cons: nothing, everything was handled on the spot there with courteous and attentive staff.
Location: a long walk away is Yorktown ship, and the Fort Sumter tours. but the shuttle takes you downtown Charleston every hour.
got there early they had a room available. the bed was awful with a major dip in the middle, told them about it and they switched our room for the second night, much better. many amenities and pools and restaurants. heated pool was a little to hot, other pool really really cold! the bar had pizza as the majority on its menu and they were out of crust.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Very beat up for the price.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Beautiful setting. Nice amenities, hotel was beat up tho. Paid a resort fee, which included a shuttle. However it only held fourteen people and we were cut off and told we would have to wait an hour for the next one. So Saturday are plans were altered and we back at the hotel. Sunday morning check out was a nightmare. I booked three rooms through Expedia, so I expected to receive a bill from such. They made us pay for one of the rooms and assured me there will not be a double charge. I have my doubts !!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Nice hotel but could have a few more amenities

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Nice hotel and great views! The pool areas are fantastic and in peak season I’m sure the hotel has more to do at the actual resort. They could add a small breakfast bar or be able to buy something for breakfast other than eating at their restaurant for a sit down meal. The beds are VERY firm so if you don’t like that kind of bed it is extremely uncomfortable. The shuttle to market street is extremely helpful but you pay for it in your extra fees so keep that in mind.