Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Renovations coming! But not before your stay! :-(

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Honestly, not a whole lot. The front end women were lovely! The location was good. Parking was free! The facility was a major disappointment.
Cons: Honestly, the total renovation, along with a bit more care and concern from Howard Johnson Corporate, should do the trick!
Location: Very close to the bridge that leads into downtown Charleston. Great location. Awful hotel!
What a disappointment! The hotel was recommended by a good friend of mine who has inlaws in the area. The location...Great!...just at the foot of the bridge on Route 17! Parking....Great!! Ease of access...Great! Facilities.....AWFUL! Here's the story: the hotel is due to close October 2017 for massive renovations and reopen as something amazing and wonderful in June 2018. Yet, in the meantime, they've let it fall nearly to rack and ruin. Little effort is made to keep the elevators or floors clean. My room went without cleaning for two days. I ran out of towels or shampoo; finally, they came. The furniture in the rooms, including draperies, was outdated. The fabric-covered chair in my room was stained in spots that I dare not mention in this review for fear it may make the reader sick. The bottom line, folks, is the attitude toward the hotel was one that reflected what the hotel needed most--repair! It's so unfortunate, too. The front end staff was very kind and apologetic throughout my stay, but unfortunately, Holiday Inn should NEVER put its employees in a position where they must apologize for what the mothership has failed to take care of. Bottom line, unless I received a free room, I wouldn't stay in a HO JO. I should have gone to the Hilton and paid a few extra dollars. It's a newer facility and one where I know I wouldn't have to write a negative review like this. My suggestion--if you have a reservation before October 31, 2017, cancel it. Come back in July 2018.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Rude staff and gross beds

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The sheets used in this hotel trap a lot of hair - like an immense amount of hair from all the people who have stayed here before you. We were here for three nights and each night this was how the sheets looked, so we lined the inside of the bed with a top sheet (different material, no hair woven in from the precious 100s of guests). At least we did this the first two nights. On the third night, at 9:30p I asked the woman at the front desk to send up new sheets. She said laundry had left and no one was there to grab sheets for us (but she was???). I mentioned that the sheets were disgusting and explained the problem. She said she'd look for sheets. I called down 45 min later asking if she'd found sheets or could put us in a new room. She said she couldn't find sheets and wasn't going to look more and that the hotel was completely booked (no free rooms). I pulled out my phone to see if she was right, turns out there were 6 open rooms I could have booked, so she lied about it being full. Her rudeness, the grossness of the sheets, and the unwillingness to solve a simple issue are just totally unacceptable. Don't stay here - many other comparable hotels where this wouldn't be an issue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Consistent

Posted Oct 15, 2017
2nd stay @ this hotel....& there is consistency: for the most part clean, helpful staff & quiet. Property remains dated. Easy to get to & the BEST feature is how closely located to actual Charleston it is. Mt. Pleasant though, is a lovely town w/ wonderful dining & shopping options.
4 out of 5
by Amit K

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
very close to major attractions in city. Nice ambiance .
5 out of 5
by Edward

Convenient location between town and beach

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
The property was clean and comfortable. Located just across the Ravenel bridge from downtown Charleston, the area has good food options within driving distance. It's also close to Patriot's Point. You can bike over the bridge, but the 3-speed rentals at the hotel may not be your best option given the steep nature of the trip.
4 out of 5
by Ryan

Holiday inn Mt Pleasant

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great location just across the bridge to Charleston. Friendly staff. Lack of a refrigerator in the room was an inconvenience. Room was quite small and dated.
5 out of 5
by Harry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Very convenient and Quiet

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Cons: The housekeeping staff should not enter a room before checkout time or until after they confirm nobody is in the room...this happened to me.
Very hospitable staff, clean room and convenient for my workday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, clean, beds a little too firm for me but my mother liked them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels