Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Morganton, NC

Good location. Staff were friendly. Nice pool.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Staff were nice and the bed was very comfortable.
Cons: Stronger water pressure in the shower.
Location: Right in the middle of food, shopping, downtown, beaches, Patriots Point very close and our favorite restaurant right down the road.
Have already recommended this hotel to a friend. We will stay here again the next time we are in Charleston. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The pool was nice. The exercise room was nice. The room was perfect for our needs. The bed was very comfortable. Location was perfect for what we needed. The shampoo, conditioner and lotion provided by the hotel were my favorite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Not What We Expected

Posted Jul 22, 2017
We had to request another room due to the carpet stains and hair on the pillowcases. The hotel offers no continental breakfast. The cleanliness could be better. The bed was so uncomfortable we ended up cutting our stay short and returning back home. I was surprised because I always thought the Holiday Inn was top notch.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: I liked the bartender, young girl with braids. Very well composed and efficient. It was clean. The girl that checked us in was very nice and friendly.
The room reeked of marijuana despite the fact that it is no smoking Hotel. The bed was hard. The hostess for breakfast seemed angry and was downright rude at times. One of the waitresses for the evening seemed to be going crazy and talking about how overwhelmed she was. She probably had 2-3 tables the entire night. The other younger girl was cool as a cucumber and took it in strides and was very cordial.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

adequate hotel close to Charleston

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Parking; ease of check in and check out
Cons: Was disappointed that breakfast a la carte not possible. On weekends, I was told, only breakfast buffet, which got an F as far as we were concerned.
Position between beach and Charleston is good. Easy for parking. Staff friendly, except for extremely grumpy and unaccommodating woman in charge of breakfast buffet. Breakfast buffet selection truly awful. Not a single healthy cereal (bran flakes or Special K), just sugary junk. Everything from the "hot" buffet (eggs, bacon) was barely warm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 5, 2017 by TJ, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in our restaurant. We are working hard to improve our menu and coach other associates. Thank you again for the feedback.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017
Dear Bruce, Thank you so much for the review. It was such a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I booked

Posted Apr 22, 2017
I booked a king room and ended up with 2 full beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Food is great! Excellent chef! Room was clean.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Location, it was close to restaurants and my appointment.
Hotel staff (Tyler) was very accommodating with room change from King to two doubles.
5 out of 5
by Larry B

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 16, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was rented to another tenant.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Since I never got to see any of the accommodations, the only experience that I had was with the desk clerk and it could have been improved..
Location: I did not get to stay there.
I scheduled the reservation through Expedia a week in advance. The reservation was non-refundable and paid in advance. My wife and I arrived around 10:15 pm on a Saturday night to check in and we were told that there was no reservation. We were also told later after quite a number of questions that the reservation had been cancelled that day, but were not told what time. We were told initially that we would have to contact Expedia to have them find us lodging. Since this was prom weekend in Charleston and spring break for many colleges, I knew that most of Charleston was booked. While I was on the phone with Expedia, the desk clerk completely changed her attitude. She had called a sister Holiday Inn and notified us that we had a room there free of charge for the computer server glitch that supposedly ate my reservation. The bottom line is that Expedia refunded my money and we got the room for free. However the aggravation and the initial unwillingness to be helped was not worth the free stay.
2 out of 5
by Jamie

Nice staff, internet down

Posted Apr 10, 2017 on Hotels
Firstly the staff was very nice and accommodating, including the front desk staff and bartender. However, their internet was down and they had no idea we were coming due to hotels.com's inability to reach them. Hotels.com never informed us that this was the case and instead sent several emails confirming that there was a reservation, which there wasn't. Thankfully, they were able to accommodate us with a different style room, which was great.