Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had a nice time

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice motel, very clean and staff is friendly. Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment as it was only cereal, breads and muffins. Also, a serious lack of parking spaces. Local area is upscale and seems safe.
3 out of 5
by Robin

Breakfast and gym pathetic but room fair

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Mattress seemed worn out, pillows not good either. Breakfast very sad. Fitness room was a joke. 3 pieces if equipment and all we're falling apart.
5 out of 5
by James

Great place for the rate and location !

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great place for families with teenagers who need their own private space. The layout of the 2 bedroom suite is designed so that the bedrooms are separated by the living area. Parents can actually get some sleep while the teenagers stay up later, as they ALWAYS do ! Bathrooms were very clean also. Just had two minor issues, the stove light under the microwave was out and the master bath ventilation fan was not functioning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was great for the price we paid. The location was great and the rooms were a nice size and clean enough. The queen bed was not very comfortable but not enough to not stay here again.
1 out of 5
by Didi

Won"t stay again

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was great. Rooms leave a lot to be desired. First room they put us in was dirty. Bathroom light out and what looked like blood to be on the floor. They moved us into another room. Not much better. Room was still dirty, floors needed to be vacuumed and mopped. Kitchen floor was sticky. The fans above the bedrooms doors were filthy. Could not watch TV due to static, could not see the picture. We won't be staying again or recommending. Would have went to another location but rooms were non-refundable. On a positive note it was nice to have separate bedrooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value with kitchen

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
Good last minute choice for two night stay over New Year's.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Good value in Mt. Pleasant

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
The room was small suite. There was a double bed and a pullout couch. There was a good sized refrigerator, two-burner stove top, and microwave. The bath tub needed replacement due to the enamel cracking. Much of the bathroom facilities needed re-caulking. The hallways were clean. The elevator was suspect and the stairs were not easily available. The staff was very friendly and the cleaning service people were polite and very respectful. The location is excellent for Mt. Pleasant and even Charleston activities, being right off US 17. The room had a musty smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good location. Bathrooms could use an upgrade.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Tub had rust stains and constantly dripped. Kitchen didn't have enough dishes for two people. Staff was friendly and helpful but looked overworked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Paula, Hotel Management
Hi Ryon, Thank you for being a guest of Mainstay Suites. We appreciated you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom renovations are underway to replace all bathtubs, surrounds and faucets. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the beautiful Charleston area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hands down the worst hotel we have stayed at

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
We travel quite a bit and I am always the planner in the relationship. I chose this hotel due to its location. It was close to Charleston (right over the bridge), Fort Sumter, great beaches, Patriot Point, the Aquarium, plantations, and a good selection of dinning and shopping. Needless to say, I was very unimpressed when it came to anything about the hotel other than the location. The lobby was nice, clean, the staff was decently friendly. After checking in, we went to our room. The carpets in the hallways were not clean. The carpet in our room was stained with multiple things, toilet was broken, it had a horrible smell, no hot water in one of the bathrooms, clumps of dust on the floor, dust lining the window sills, lamps, headboard, doors. The dishes were not clean, the drawers in the bathroom had not been cleaned out-they still had receipts in it from months before along with someones shaving clippings. The floor in the master bedroom was also sticky and even wearing socks, those were quickly filthy. There were no batteries in the remotes. I have stayed in a few iffy hotels when I was younger and as a quick few hours shut eye on a long trip, but this was by far the dirtiest hotel we have ever stayed in. They don't seem to care about the lack of cleanliness or the service they provide. Breakfast consisted of cereal, yogurt, apples, and some muffins. The orange juice had a brown tinge to it and tasted bad. We will not be going back nor suggesting it. Waste of money!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous We regret that your accommodations at Mainstay Suites did not meet your expectations, and also that we did not have contact information to follow up with you personally about your review. We strive to offer guest service that WOWS, and we are sorry that the housekeeping in your guestroom was unsatisfactory. Mainstay Suites is an extended stay hotel, and we are respectful that extended stay might not be the best fit for all guests. We serve a "quick bite" Continental breakfast.