Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Kimberley from Rockwall

Amazing gardens, southern hospitality

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
tired of chain hotels, stayed in this lovely place during the week. On site owners very friendly and helpful. On-site gardens and saltwater pool – stunning. Fell asleep to the sound of frogs in the gorgeous lily filled pond. Great outdoor gazebo for relaxing, surrounded by climbing flowering vines, roses and centuries old trees. Delicious breakfast served on China
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Deer Park TX

Very Pleasant Vinue

Posted Feb 16, 2016
Pros: The manor was conveniently located to town.
Cons: Wallpaper was trying to peel in some areas of our room, especially in the bath area.
Location: We arrived late on a Saturday afternoon but was within walking distance to downtown / main street area.
Very nice facility but needs a little TLC. Quite and within walking distance to downtown area. Staff very accommodating and pleasant.
4 out of 5
by Patsy from San Antonio

More than meets the eye

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
The Hubbell House is a historic B&B. The owners are super nice and accommodating. Their service was great. The room I stayed in was quiet except when the train went through town at 4:20am. Otherwise, very quiet and peaceful. The room, typical of an antique, a bit worn; not very spacious; mirror was high on wall over sink - a bit difficult for a short person to use. There were no clothes hangers to hang clothes. It was clean and had no smells. The breakfast was outstanding. I would have enjoyed wondering the grounds if I had had more time. First glance is disappointing; but the overall stay was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by PJB from Zürich

enttäuschend

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
Die Gastgeber waren trotz Reservation nicht auf unsere Ankunft vorbereitet; entsprechend war dad Zimmer nicht bereit. Wir wurden im Nebenhaus einquartiert. Die Sauberkeit war äusserst mangelhaft. Preis/Leistung stimmt nicht.
5 out of 5
by Linda Phillips from Grovetown GA

Spouse

Posted Jul 5, 2014 on Hotels
We felt very comfortable and the the mansion was spectacular. Love the time period decor. We enjoyed the family style breakfast. Our breakfast mate was a splendid lady from England on a 6mo road trip. This will definitely be on our "places to revisit" list.
2 out of 5
by Native Texans from Midwest

Breakfast & Bed, Not Much Else

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: The grounds are lovely. They need the care of a gardener, but are still quite charming.
Cons: Almost everything. As we said above, the air conditioning was okay.
Location: The location is great. It was a couple of blocks from downtown, where there are wonderful restaurants and shops.
Thee Hubbell House came highly recommended to us. What a disappointment! The mattress was lumpy. The headboard and footboard were not well secured to the frame. The towels were thin. The ceiling fan buzzed constantly. The tiny TV was difficult to see. The worst part was that the outside lighting shown through the window all night. There was no light-blocking drapery and the window shade was light-filtering at best. Every time we turned to the side facing the window, the light was blaring into our eyes. This was the most uncomfortable night we've ever spent. Anywhere. Breakfast was quite good. We'd rate it a "4"-- pleasing. The a/c was cool--a "5". We were booked in for two nights, but left in the afternoon rather than spend another uncomfortable night. We decided we'd lose the second night's pre-payment gladly and we are certainly not rich. By the time we departed at 3:00 p.m. our room had not been made up, but that may be normal for that particular B&B. I would think that for nearly $100/night, though, that they would at least bring clean towels and make the bed. No one was on premises when we left, which made it feel more like a sneaky "get away" than a departure from what should have been a lovely, charming bed and breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Robyn from Waxahachie Texas

Hospitality at it's best

Posted Jul 15, 2013 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay. The carriage house has a great view of the yard. Breakfast was very good and the hosts attention to all our needs was super. Located right near downtown where we enjoyed shopping. When in Winnsboro you will not be disappointed if you stay here.
3 out of 5
by jc from Washington

Thanksgiving Stay

Posted Nov 29, 2012
Pros: Innkeeper, quiite
Cons: The yard could be beautiful if kept up although this time of year you would have to rake leaves 24hrs a day
Location: In a quaint little town called Winnsboro Texas and within walkiing distance to lots of nice shops and restaurants, very friendlly people,.
Beautiful home, great innkeepers, property could be kept up a little better.