Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price hotel close to Mount Rushmore!

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: I liked the area it was cute little town. close to all the attractions I wanted to see!
Cons: I couldn't say it needed to be improved, it's a little worn down and could use better breakfast options but I went off season so I can't say!
Location: There's not a lot around there, a visitor area but the main attractions are Mount Rushmore and crazy horse.
It was a good place to stay for the price, wanted to see Mount Rushmore and a lot of the hotels in the town are super expensive, when I found the days inn..... it's about fifteen minute scenic drive through the mountain which was awesome!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Another outdated hotel.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: They could use an elevator and updated.
Location: It is right by Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park
The owner was who waited on us was outstanding. There are a couple good restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was a joke.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Okay. Just okay...

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Custer is a great location in the Black Hills - about 40 min from Sturgis but away from the larger crowds. Only 20 min to Mt. Rushmore.
Cons: Infrastructure is very dated, bathrooms clean but old.
Stayed a few days before the 2015 Sturgis Rally but already most of the hotels were booked up. For a Days Inn, this one is a little more dated, a little smaller, and a little more expensive - not a great combination. Overall the room was basic but clean. Nothing special to note. Interesting feature for the free hot breakfast: there is a small electric griddle that everyone gets to share. After waiting my turn, I had to cook my own eggs and sausage in the morning while others waited for me. I've never seen a set-up like that before. Okay for a night or two if nothing better is available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Mo.

nice pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness of the rooms & the comfort of the beds. Also everyone was very helpful.
Cons: nothing
Location: Approximately 25 miles from Mt. Rushmore as well as many other tourist attractions.
Nice hotel. Everyone was very nice & helpful. They even offered to carry our luggage upstairs. Rooms were clean & the bed was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great breakfast!!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
For me the bed was too hard & uncomfortable & I tossed & turned all night. My husband thought it was fine for him. The breakfast was great with warm cheesy omelets & other options. Good popcorn & hot chocolate in evening too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Days Inn Custer, SD

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Clean and location.
Cons: They just need to keep doing what they are doing.
Location: Couple good Saloons.
The hotel was very close to the center of town. The hotel was also very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We were very happy with this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Exellent for a Days Inn

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: clean
Better than I expected. Clean and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Nice hotel and the staff in the welcome table and in the dining are really nice. Located in the nice place. I think the price is bit high. Surely I recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from canada

Easy to find

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Staff were most helpful and took the time to chat with their guests. They were most helpful in getting additional keys to the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible hotel staff

Posted Aug 26, 2014
The room is clean. Free breakfast is fine. But the wifi signal is really bad in my room. When I checked in I tried the wifi signal and its too weak to connected. I went to the front desk to ask them change a room for me. They said they can't and all rooms are booked and all guests were checked in. They answered me without patient. She obviously told a lie because I saw several rooms' door are open and no one inside! I had to use the wifi in the lobby. In the past I thought Days Inn is a good hotel but this time is unhappy.