Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price hotel close to Mount Rushmore!

Posted Mar 23, 2016
Pros: I liked the area it was cute little town. close to all the attractions I wanted to see!
Cons: I couldn't say it needed to be improved, it's a little worn down and could use better breakfast options but I went off season so I can't say!
Location: There's not a lot around there, a visitor area but the main attractions are Mount Rushmore and crazy horse.
It was a good place to stay for the price, wanted to see Mount Rushmore and a lot of the hotels in the town are super expensive, when I found the days inn..... it's about fifteen minute scenic drive through the mountain which was awesome!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Another outdated hotel.

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: The location and the staff.
Cons: They could use an elevator and updated.
Location: It is right by Mt Rushmore and Custer State Park
The owner was who waited on us was outstanding. There are a couple good restaurants within walking distance. The breakfast was a joke.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Okay. Just okay...

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: Custer is a great location in the Black Hills - about 40 min from Sturgis but away from the larger crowds. Only 20 min to Mt. Rushmore.
Cons: Infrastructure is very dated, bathrooms clean but old.
Stayed a few days before the 2015 Sturgis Rally but already most of the hotels were booked up. For a Days Inn, this one is a little more dated, a little smaller, and a little more expensive - not a great combination. Overall the room was basic but clean. Nothing special to note. Interesting feature for the free hot breakfast: there is a small electric griddle that everyone gets to share. After waiting my turn, I had to cook my own eggs and sausage in the morning while others waited for me. I've never seen a set-up like that before. Okay for a night or two if nothing better is available.
3 out of 5
by Nick B.

stop over on way home

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Orbitz
About par for the price but the location is really good. Block down from rows of restaurants. We didn't bother with the free breakfast after seeing the cartons of unrefrigerated eggs on the counter sitting for 3 or so hours they are serving. Decent bed, it got the job done.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, Mo.

nice pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness of the rooms & the comfort of the beds. Also everyone was very helpful.
Cons: nothing
Location: Approximately 25 miles from Mt. Rushmore as well as many other tourist attractions.
Nice hotel. Everyone was very nice & helpful. They even offered to carry our luggage upstairs. Rooms were clean & the bed was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great breakfast!!

Posted Nov 23, 2014
For me the bed was too hard & uncomfortable & I tossed & turned all night. My husband thought it was fine for him. The breakfast was great with warm cheesy omelets & other options. Good popcorn & hot chocolate in evening too!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Days Inn Custer, SD

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Clean and location.
Cons: They just need to keep doing what they are doing.
Location: Couple good Saloons.
The hotel was very close to the center of town. The hotel was also very clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. We were very happy with this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Exellent for a Days Inn

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: clean
Better than I expected. Clean and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Nice hotel and the staff in the welcome table and in the dining are really nice. Located in the nice place. I think the price is bit high. Surely I recommend the hotel.
1 out of 5
by anon9999

Smells like CAT!

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Orbitz
Hotel main floors, lobby, and maybe room smelled like Cat (Dander) due to the fact this motel has a house cat on the premises. Probably won't be booking here again.