Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located

Posted Sep 24, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Custer Holiday Inn Express. Although it's farther from Mt. Rushmore than we'd hoped - maybe 20 miles - it h as convenient access to Custer State Park and other attractions. The staff were attentive and helpful. Our only real complaint was with the breakfast. Like so many hotel brands, we found industrial eggs, thin tasteless bacon, and manufactured pancakes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Good clean place in a beautiful area. Breakfast is good, ice machin is working, I likeed the waterfall view from our window. The hotel could vacuum the stairs from the lobby more often. I don't know why I need to add more. It is a holiday inn express and it does comply to all it is suppose to represent. Your survey is kind of annoying because it keeps asking for more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Super nice hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Staff offered late checkout without prompting when we arrived after midnight. Well done!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the Ritz but a nice, comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Hotel rooms were clean, relatively large, well maintained and staff was very helpful. Breakfasts were good and buffet style. Waterfall in back of lounge area a nice touch. For a vacation room, not an elite hotel, it was rally very nice. The only complaint was the single, slow elevator - would suggest walking up and down steps (we were on top floor)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mn

Convenient and good amenities

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Easy check in, centrally located, clean pool and hot tub. Only downside was too much chlorine in hot tub, so couldn't use it due to the fumes.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, restful.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
First time staying at a Holiday Inn Express and loved it!!!! After camping at Yellowstone for a week, the bed, shower, and overall room comfort was amazing.
4 out of 5
by Nicholas from Westborough, Massachusetts

A Pleasant Surprise

Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
I was pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel is. The layout, condition, and cleanliness of the hotel was awesome. It was more than I expected. The breakfast was fine, scrambled eggs, toast, choice of sausage, cereal, sweet rolls. Custer is an old gold rush town that is now a tourist town for Custer State Park. The staff at the reception desk knows the area and is willing to give some guidance. It is an easy walk to the center of Custer. Overall a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
by Julie from WI

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Close to area attractions. Clean and updated accommodations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well kept hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Staff seemed relatively indifferent; very noisy guests.
4 out of 5
by MAria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels