Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Reasonable price, close to the monument

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: Proximity to Mount Rushmore and shops
Cons: Cleanliness of rooms, new blankets for beds.
Location: Super close to Mount Rushmore, gasoline, restaurants and a little shopping.
The price was competitive with the other options nearby. The indoor pool was nice, and the rooms were adequate. However, there was a bug in our room, the front desk staff was gruff, and the parking situation is harsh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time! Nice rooms!

Posted Aug 23, 2015
I read the reviews before my visit. I was expecting a 2 star experience. I rate this hotel a 5 star. A great mountain experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: ok
very dirty, no amenities, disgusting nothing more to say
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff. Bikers smoking meth out front.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Location and staff were good. Clean rooms
Cons: Better ventilation in pool area. Chlorine smell in rooms sharing the pool area. Kids could do W/O Bikers smoking meth outside office.
Location: Right in the heart of town. Limited good dining choices.
Overnight stay for leisure. Families could do without Bikers smoking meth outside office. Hiding the pipe and apologizing doesn't make the image go away. Limited parking and large vehicles park off site across the street. Room was nice and clean with no view as hotel backs to a cut down mountain. Had some bugs in the bed (not bed bugs). Staff was friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis via San Diego

Quality is not a core value.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Very little. The indoor pool, but not the hot tub, or should I say, lukewarm tub.
Cons: Everything. See review.
Location: Mr. Rushmore, Bear Country USA, Holy Smoke Cabin Resort, Big Thunder mine.
Along the many things I could list here, I will stick to four issues. 1) listed as a room with two queen beds but the beds were doubles (full) not queen. 2) the hotel staff and guests continually smoked in front of the entrances making the hallways wreak of cigarettes. 3) the bug squished behind the glass of the pictures above the bed, and the fact that there were souvenirs from previous guests under the bed proved that cleanliness and quality are definitely NOT core values here. 4) While the pool was acceptable, the hot tub, or should I say, lukewarm tub was not. Never, ever again. Next time I sleep in my car.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Mt Rushmore

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Not enough parking, terrible bedsheets and blankets. Very old and worn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Filthy room!! Awful bedding. Holes in blankets. Cockroaches in rooms. Carpeting wet. Never, ever stay here!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Great location for all activities! Close to shopping and restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Decent and reasonable hotel near Mount Rushmore

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Just 2 miles from Mount Rushmore, They gave 10% discount of couple of nearby restaurants.
Cons: The space was tight and parking was tight as the hotel was just next a road.
Location: Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park (South Dakota)
The hotel was reasonable place to stay when we visited Mount Rushmore, SD. The parking was tight. The room was okay except the table and chairs were right in front of the cabinet so we couldn't access it easily. The price was good. Clean and nice looking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's not worth the rating I've read.

Posted Jul 22, 2015
I'm been to a lot of hotels and usually pay attention to the ratings online and AAA, it's way off. Room is very small with me my wife and my teenage son we hardly can move around in the room. Bedsheets are old and feel unclean. Carpet floor dirty, TV provided is the old analog with very limited channel.