Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rapid City, SD

White House Inn

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The location of it.
Cons: Hotel needs a remodel. It is run down and you can tell hasn't been up kept very well.
Location: Keystone has many shops nearby. Antiques, rocks, souvenirs, and taffy. It is a beautiful location.
Hotel was actually quite disgusting. There were actual cockroaches under the beds. The pool and spa weren't open. Overall it was at least a place to stay, but wouldn't recommend. LaQuinta offers rooms for $49 a night and they are nice. This hotel was a bust.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what advertised

Posted Feb 28, 2017
The ad on Expedia was not as advertised. We booked a room that was pool side access, queen beds and no smoking. The room was far from that. Room had double beds, had been smoked in and was not poo side as pool was closed due to the off season. We moved to the Holiday Inn Express
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Did not get the room we reserved and all amenities were closed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off season visit

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
This was a very off season stay, so most things were closed. But, it is obvious there is a ton to do and see here besides Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse (you must go to both!) Customer Service was very good, but the continental breakfast was seriously lacking. It was way over priced for the time of season, but I can imagine during the peak season this is a great place to stay. Ample parking and a great restaurant BarLee (a 2 minute walk). It seems the 3 major hotels in the area are all owned by the same people, so any would do. I would recommend this property for sure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

This place is a joke!

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Nope
We showed up and they were overbooked! The sign on the door said they were overbooked and that it did not matter if you had a reservation or not. We looked around for nearly 30 mins looking for someone and found nobody. We called the next day to get a refund and the people at Expedia said they spoke to the manager and he said that there was no refund since we didn't cancel 72hrs ahead of time and that it was policy. So I called and spoke to the manager and he said that Expedia told him a different story. So I will never use Expedia or this hotel ever again!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nightmare experience. Avoid at all cost
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Off season doesn't mean slacking off

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Arrived late, night mgr sleeping, no towels, no toiletries, no toilet paper in room and no phone to call front desk...did have a roommate but he met an untimely demise (large bug). Exterior looks great though...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay if you have children

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk said the room we booked was closed for the season. Then they also said we had not paid yet, which we had through Hotels.com. Even showed them our email, which did not seem good enough. We asked to speak to the manager & was told he needed to sleep because he's been up since 4am (so had we, driving in from out of state). It took much argument to get the room we paid for. Later in our stay, our daughters (15 & 16 years old) asked the front desk for more towels and the man there made very inappropriate comments; lewd and suggestive. The front desk staff used foul language on a regular basis, particularly the F word, and did not seem to care. In addition, there are swarms of wasps on the outside of the building everywhere, even on their signs. Above all though, it was the unprofessional and inappropriate front desk team and management as to why we would not recommend staying here.....at least not with children.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels