Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel cercano al Monte Rushmore pero viejo

Posted May 24, 2016
Es un hotel que por la cercanía que tiene al monte Rushmore se vuelve muy cómodo, pero las instalaciones son viejas poco agradables y limpias, poco cómodas. El microondas está en el baño, las instalaciones viejas y hay cosas que no sirven como la secadora de cabello, la cama ya es vieja, la calefacción hace muchísimo ruido.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2016
It's ok, it's good and good location . I spend just one night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We Left.

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: It was close to Mount Rushmore and was open in the off season. It helped us gauge our tolerance for accommodations while on the road.
We were travelling cross country and wanted to see Mount Rushmore and the Black Hills while we were going though the area. Keystone is a touristy town providing accommodations for families visiting Mount Rushmore. Almost everything is closed in the off season. Places that were listed as "Sold Out" were actually closed. The Holiday Inn Express was full (we called a couple of times to confirm), so we booked this place. I don't like to negatively single out individuals, but the desk clerk was not neatly dressed, mumbled, didn't make eye contact and never cracked a smile. There were three parties checking-in in succession and he seemed overwhelmed and put out. The check in area was cramped and disorganized. Otherwise, the place was clean(ish), but a bit shabby. We have stayed in a variety of accommodations, including camping, hostels and roadside motels, but our daughter said it made her so uncomfortable that she didn't think she would be able to sleep, so we left. We've travelled a lot and have never done that before. We ended up visiting Mount Rushmore that night and continuing on to Sturgis, where accommodations were nicer, cleaner and on par cost-wise. In the end, our discomfort with the hotel led us to visit Mount Rushmore at night. We would highly recommend this in any event. It was a beautiful, cold, clear night and there was only one other family there. We drove through the gate and right up to the walk. It was very special.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver CO

Nice hotel close to Mount Rushmore easy access

Posted Apr 4, 2016
I like it nice hotel excellent service......................................
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No actual breakfast. Very outdated

Posted Mar 23, 2016
The room was clean but it was very outdated, the tv was an old box tv so the image was not very clear. Woke up hoping for a nice breakfast but instead they had a breakfast located in a very small conference room and did not have any warm food to eat. I recommend staying in rapid city.
2 out of 5
by Jenny

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Loren from Fargo, ND

You can do a lot better than this.

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Spend a little extra and stay at the Holiday in Keystone. Avoid this place at all cost.
5 out of 5
by David W.

Quick overnight trip

Posted Oct 16, 2015 on HotelClub
This was a spur of the moment trip to Mount Rushmore. As it was the middle of October the hotel was not busy. Check in was easy. Room was clean. Staff was helpful and efficient. Used the pool and hot tub. Had breakfast at the adjacent restaurant the morning of checkout. Plain, no-frills food. The hotel is old but clean and well maintained. This was our second stay at this establishment. An overall excellent value for the money.
5 out of 5
by Diane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 15, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by george from OR

good but small

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
room a little small and nickel and dime you to death