Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ogden Utah

Better than it looks.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable rooms.
Cons: Upgrade the exterior -- it will have greater appeal.
Location: Besides the obvious, lots of camping and hiking opportunities, Wind Cave, Jewell Cave, Reptile Gardens in Rapid City.
The exterior is badly outdated and even a bit run down. The pool is okay for small children, but not suitable for older children or adults due to its extremely small size. And, shaped like a coffin? Is that an omen? The room, on the other hand was clean and comfortable. Not bad for a short stay. The staff was friendly and courteous, and responded quickly to requests, but they were slightly on the clueless side. The breakfast was a bit better than we expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apple Valley, MN

Posted Jul 16, 2017
The room is clean, comfortable, but bathroom needs to have a place to hang clothes. Near Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Nice motel in Custer, Family owned

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Good beds, great breakfast early in the morning till 10. Clean
Location: Custer - close to Mount Rushmore, Sylvan Lake and Black Hills Forest
Well maintained, good beds and large rooms. Parking right by door. We even asked to be moved from the room closest to the road and they upgraded us. Very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Jul 13, 2017
This appears to be an independently owned family run establishment. The building seems older and could use a remodel but is otherwise fine. I was only staying one night and just needed a place to shower and sleep. The hotel served it's purpose. That said, there was a definite slant to the bathroom floor. There was no fan in the bathroom which isn't an issue now but will be down the road because I saw the beginnings of mildew in the corner above the shower. The rest of the bathroom and room were clean and the bed was comfortable. The wi-fi was a joke, two bars of reception max and I couldn't even get it to accept the password I was provided by the front desk. If you're just looking for the basics overnight, this place is fine. If you're planning to stay a few days, spring for something a little nicer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

RUDE

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Close to area attractions like Custer State Park and Crazy Horse Memorial
Cons: New management and finish room updates before renting room out to customers
Location: Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Memorial and lots of Winery's
Our room looked nothing like the pictures. We had no pictures no lighting, no clothes rod and no comforters on the beds. The tub and shower were made for people no taller then 4'10. I am 5'5 and had to crouch down to wash my hair. We were there 3 days and the room was not cleaned until we asked and our entry room cards were deactivated and we were not able to get back into our room until the owner/staff woke up at 2 a.m. so we asked for a late check out at 12 p.m. the next day so we could get some sleep, and we were told this was just fine and that they would let the cleaning staff/family? know. By the way we were the only ones there! At 11 a.m. we were accosted by an angry man who was screaming at us to get out! right now! you have one minute to get out! We were scared and called the front desk to inform them of the hostile man in our room. The owner's son came and got the angry staff-man and told us it was just a misunderstanding and to take our time. Wow! please take your business elsewhere or feel free to enjoy the bathtub in the hotel's yard because the pool is closed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha

Three night stay.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
They missed cleaning the room one night but might have seen the wrong sign of the door handle sigh to clean room. Staff friendly. Breakfast adequate - some fresh fruit would be nice. I thought is was quite. I'd stay there again - no problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing to brag about

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Wi-Fi didn't work. Bathroom door couldn't be locked. Simple continental breakfast in a small crowded space. You have to check in before 11pm (no 24 hour front desk).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NorthCentral Wiscosnin

Great Location Clean Room

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Clean spacious room
Cons: Bigger pool that isn't so crowded
Location: Right by the Black Hills and many attractions, especially Crazy Horse national Monument, love that place.
Really nice place inexpensive clean and spacious rooms, the pool is kind of small and crowded with small kids so we avoided it, great free breakfast, nicest place we stayed on our whole trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Custer State Park

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Rooms were nice and clean. Quick and easy place to stay near Custer State Park. Yummy breakfast in the morning too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

It's all you need

Posted Jun 26, 2017
You get what you pay for so set your expectations accordingly. The motel owners are very kind and personable. The rooms are dated and show their wear, but they are kept clean. If you plan to spend a lot of time in your room, this may not be the place for you. We spent most of our time at Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Jewel Cave, and Custer State Park so this was the perfect motel for us.