Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Location for Visit to Mt. Rushmore

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Decor and breakfast.
Location: The hotel is close to town where a restaurant, Ruby's House, is situated. We enjoyed a phenomenal dinner in a wonderful atmosphere.
I was expecting an Inn atmosphere - cozy, welcoming and with a vintage feel. In fact the atmosphere was very sterile and bare bones. The room was very small, the bathroom unusually tiny and the breakfast was minimal. The location was a plus. It was convenient to the town and to the Mt. Rushmore site.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by AL, Hotel Management
Sorry Anita, I want my customers to feel welcome. I will continue to improve the hotel and we have done many renovations with more to come this fall. By next year we hope to have a like new hotel. Please give us a 2nd chance to earn your business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sudbury, Ontario

The hotel was convenient and close to attractions.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Very convenient location. The rooms were nice and clean.
Cons: I believe the biggest struggle they were having is that they were just opening. There were heaters in the lobby and our door would not close.
Location: Mount Rushmore, Custer National Park, Rapid City, Crazy Horse, Bad Lands.
The timing of our trip was due to a wedding we were attending in Montana. We were not aware that most tourist attractions are closed until mid-May. Having said that we were able to enter the National Parks. We saw a lot of wildlife in Custer National Park, visited Jewel Cave, saw Mount Rushmore, visited Crazy Horse and saw a lot of beautiful scenery. The Roosevelt in appeared to be just opening like many things in Keystone. We were also there four days and it snowed two of them.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Randy, Hotel Management
Dear Mike Thanks for staying with us. Yes, you got to see us working through opening for the season. Hope to see you in the future. Randy
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Did not even stay the night! Room was dirty ! Left and went to Hill City!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2017 by Al, Hotel Management
Sorry your stay was bad, wish you would have discussed with me. I or a member of management checks room daily and we would want to know if there were any issues. I would never want a customer to leave without giving me a chance to correct the issue. Feel free to reach out to me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheyenne, Wyoming

Construction, cleanliness, lack of security

Posted Mar 29, 2017
First, hotels under construction. Next on our washcloth there was a red spot not saying it's blood but it could have been. Then the doors to outside were not locked so anyone could have come in out of the hotel. I don't think anybody else is staying in the hotel so it was quiet. I wish they had let us know about the construction and I would have stayed somewhere else. The front desk guy was nice. Explained it was under new ownership and the new owner had to remodel the hotel. I felt like an obligation and he wasn't happy to have us staying there. Talked to the front desk about my concerns and received nothing but excuses. Disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by AL, Hotel Management
I am sorry that your stay was not as you expected, as it is my goal to see every guest leave happy. We are renovating the hotel this is true. We are working hard to bring a great experience to our guests. We are trying to be sensitive to all our guests during construction. If you had requested to cancel we would have cancelled your room and found accommodations nearby for you as we don't want you to feel unwelcome or unhappy/. I am happy to hear our front desk clerk was nice. I saw the wash cloth in question, it is unacceptable that any article go out appearing unclean. It looked as though it was rust, but again unacceptable that it was in your room. I will address this with laundry. I heard that you were not happy and wanted to discuss this with you, but wasn't able to. I did discount your room and you can always call and speak to me further. I am very sorry that you left unhappy. I sincerely do care about the guests experience. Al Owner/Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good hotel.

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
It is a good hotel, is very good location, near at Mt. Rushmore
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing overall

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Was expecting the pool to be open...it was closed. Shower head in the bathroom was set up for someone 5ft tall! Couldn't stand and rinse upper body or hair! Reception staff was not very friendly. Breakfast was minimal. Hotel location was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minneapolis

close to Custer which is what I was looking for. h

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Our first hotel room had wasps all over in it because they forgot to shut the door to the balcony so they moved us to a different room and gave us a suite which was really nice. I wasn't impressed with the continental breakfast basically just dry food with some milk and juice but it was okay
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel.

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was very good. Close to all the local attractions. Nice, clean hotel. Not overpriced so you have a place to stay without spending a bundle. Thank goodness for places like that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel.

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived about 8pm after a long day of driving. There was nowhere open to eat except for a restaurant next door which the hotel receptionist told us about. Convenience store about 5 minutes away which was handy. The accommodation puts on a nice breakfast with a variety of foods. There is plenty of parking which was complimentary. The location was perfect for visiting Mt. Rushmore which was about 5 minutes away by car.