Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Near Mount Rushmore

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Location was great! Only 6 minutes from Mount Rushmore. We had to go ask for more towels and sheets for the fold out bed. Luckily we went when we did, because the office closed at 10:30. The fold out bed was broken, had to prop cushions under it to hold up the end. Told the person in the office...they said, oh, we'll have to get that fixed. Breakfast was only cereal and toast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other guests. We apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our product. We hope that you will give us another try in the future
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Not much. Minimal amenities
Location: Location to tourist sites good
Had to specifically ask for everything ie; toilet paper, pillows, blankets and had to request the room be vacuumed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean but expensive

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: spacious and clean.
Cons: breakfast and the price
Location: location is great. Mt Rushmore right up the road. Hotel sits next to a rope course and small alpine slide. Lots of fun touristy things close by.
For a 2 star hotel the room was spacious and clean but the rate of $169 is pretty high a 2 star. Free breakfast was a joke, not much there and what was there didn't get replenished. You basically had the choice of an apple, toast or frosted flakes. Location is great and the town of Keystone is nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Walking distance to restaurants and shops

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: Quiet and good location.
Cons: They should have the pool available in the summer. The maid services came and took the towels but never gave us new ones. We had to go get them our.
Location: Great location near restaurants and shops
We had a nice quiet room. It was larger than The Super 8 room we had in Grand Junction a few days ago and a king bed instead of a queen. The bathroom area was larger too. The only negative was that the indoor pool was closed for some reason. They said for maintenance but we never saw anyone working on it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

It was fine, just fine.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: Even though it was smoke free, it smelled a though someone had smoked in the room.
Location: Handy as was within walking distance to everything we were interested in
Staff were very accommodating. Room was fine. It wasn't great but it was okay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Osyka, MS

Vacation in the Black Hill of Wyoming

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: It was close to all the activities we wanted to attend.
Cons: Breakfast. Too few items.
Location: 1880 Train Ride, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse Museum. We went to Deadwood and came by thru Spearfish canyon, it was breath taking.
We were late in making reservations and didn't have much choice. The room was clean and the staff was pleasant. It would have been nice to have had a frig and microwave in room but we made out. The staff was very helpful. My husband was having health problems and we had a 3rd floor room and he couldn't climb the stairs with luggage. They found us a room on 1st floor. We were so thankful. The only complaint was with breakfast, not many items to choose from. But Peggy's was real close and the food there was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is the only asset this hotel has.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Nothing, not one thing, nadda, zip, zero.
Cons: Everything.
Mold, mold, and more mold. Air conditioner spewed out mold and shower curtain had mold on it. The hotel needs a complete rebuild, it is just worn out. Towels were so thin you could see thru them. Bed was worn out. Carpet worn out. It was one of the worst hotels we have stayed at.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newton, WI

Much better than we expected

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: At a time when every hotel was full and charging up to 10 times there rate, this Super 8 was a deal...
Cons: A little better breakfast...
We were greeted by a very nice young man at the desk, with a big smile, and a great attitude. Our room was clean and ready for us, the pool and jacuzzi area were clean although a little out of the way.. This was Bike Week, with what they say were a Million Bikers in the area, yet when we came back from where ever our room was clean and ready all three days.., On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the best i'd have to say it was a good solid 8.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: PROXIMITY TO MT. RUSHMORE AND CRAZY HORSE
Cons: TYPE OF PET POLICY
UNABLE TO STAY DUE TO PET POLICY , WOULD NOT ALLOW MY PARAKEET
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SD

Tricked...

Posted Jul 2, 2015
The pictures and overly positive reviews tricked me on this one. The only thing noteworthy of this stay is the location. It's 2-3 minutes drive from Mount Rushmore and you have a Subway™ and DQ™ right next to the hotel. The staff is meh... The hotel room was nasty. It smelt nasty, the sink wouldn't drain and it has soap scum in it. Shower floor was dirty. Beds were stained. Quite uncomfortable. I recommend paying the extra money for a nicer room elsewhere.