Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is the only asset this hotel has.

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Nothing, not one thing, nadda, zip, zero.
Cons: Everything.
Mold, mold, and more mold. Air conditioner spewed out mold and shower curtain had mold on it. The hotel needs a complete rebuild, it is just worn out. Towels were so thin you could see thru them. Bed was worn out. Carpet worn out. It was one of the worst hotels we have stayed at.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newton, WI

Much better than we expected

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: At a time when every hotel was full and charging up to 10 times there rate, this Super 8 was a deal...
Cons: A little better breakfast...
We were greeted by a very nice young man at the desk, with a big smile, and a great attitude. Our room was clean and ready for us, the pool and jacuzzi area were clean although a little out of the way.. This was Bike Week, with what they say were a Million Bikers in the area, yet when we came back from where ever our room was clean and ready all three days.., On a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the best i'd have to say it was a good solid 8.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SD

Tricked...

Posted Jul 2, 2015
The pictures and overly positive reviews tricked me on this one. The only thing noteworthy of this stay is the location. It's 2-3 minutes drive from Mount Rushmore and you have a Subway™ and DQ™ right next to the hotel. The staff is meh... The hotel room was nasty. It smelt nasty, the sink wouldn't drain and it has soap scum in it. Shower floor was dirty. Beds were stained. Quite uncomfortable. I recommend paying the extra money for a nicer room elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice, close to everything

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: More electrical outlets
Location: Near Dairy Queen,, subway, shops, Mount Rushmore and more
Very helpful staff and loved the view and indoor hot tub
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bremen, Ohio

Economical and Clean

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: Close to areas of interest.
Location: Mt. Rushmore, town of Keystone, near to Black Hills , steam train ride to Hill City.
Strayed here two nights. Hotel was clean and quiet. While older and not flashy rooms or grounds it was clean and well maintained. Staff pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

centered in beauty

Posted Aug 27, 2014
located in the middle of everything in the black hills, the location is wonderful. there is an arial adventure park right behind the hotel and restaurants within walking distance. my only complaint was that some of the desk staff appeared abrupt to rude and there was no pool as advertised
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, In

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We were in a back room which my husband didn't like. Since we were there during Bike Week I was happy not to be wakened by motorcycles every morning. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the location was good. Close to many attractions and events
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada, Regina Sk

Optical Illusion

Posted Aug 6, 2014
After 9 pm the hotel closes, your lucky to find someone who will be there to sign you in after 11 pm. No fridge, beds are old coils. It doesn't match what's online pictures. Won't be staying there again! Not worth the money you pay per night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Pool

Posted Jul 30, 2014
No pool, hot tub or elevator. Breakfast small but adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norman, OK

Just stay elsewhere in Keystone

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The location was very close to Mount Rushmore.
Cons: The pool could be improved, obviously.
Location: It's a short drive (5 minutes) from Mount Rushmore, and a 10 minute walk from downtown Keystone.
I'm glad the pool has been removed from the description. Like many others, I booked this hotel because my 4-year-old would enjoy the swimming pool, but it hasn't had a pool for a long time--the pool area is blocked and taped off. There was a sign at check-in stating the pool and hot tub were not working and "we apologize to those who booked through 3rd parties." I would have gone elsewhere immediately, but my husband's entire family had also made reservations and were trickling in at different times, so we couldn't relocate without major disruption. The rooms themselves were okay, and the wi-fi was passable. The morning office lady and the cleaning staff were polite and friendly. I'd still recommend staying elsewhere, because I feel this place lied to us. I shouldn't have to call every hotel I book on Expedia to make sure they actually have the amenities they claim, but I probably will from now on.