Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Hotel room was very comfortable. Beds really nice. Cool cafe downstairs. Hotel is a bit noisy 24/7 because of adjacent freeway. Also, exercise room pretty bare minimum. Location is away from town center but not too far.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice clean room

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Room was great, but the food at the diner highly overrated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Californi

Great facility w/ an on-site restaurant

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The only oddity was there really is no hotel office whatsoever! Penny's Diner is on site and the ONE person who cooks, presumably cleans is also the motel office staff. They're doing the best they can to keep costs down is what's happening, but it's kind of odd. The two people that covered the whole time I was there were nice and helpful enough as they could be but I could tell they were frustrated to be stuck in the kitchen so unable to be very attentive to guests's needs be they in the Diner or the motel. Rooms and room attributes were excellent--I would stay again if the price remained competitive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
I loved the diner and the hospitality. Barbara checked us in, cooked our dinner, gave an overview of the area and made us feel like family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

So Much More For Your Money!

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: Everything except that it was hard to find
Cons: We booked through Expedia. They could have provided better instructions on how to get there if only a street number instead of just a street name.
Location: We cannot say as we were just passing through
Although a few miles off our route this hotel provided the best accommodations of our 2-week trip. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The food at Penny's Diner irresistible, the staff as friendly as family and the price was lower than a Motel 6!. We wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and cheap

Posted May 9, 2017
This hotel had a wonderful bed, was very clean, and had blackout curtains for a good night's rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

A clean, convenient, pet friendly hotel

Posted May 8, 2017
We were very impressed with this hotel's cleanliness and quality for the price. We arrived at 1am, and while it was mildly strange to check in at the diner on site, the staff was friendly and helpful. There aren't frills, but for a safe, clean, quiet spot while passing through, it was perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, Comfortable Rooms

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Very clean, fresh, and super comfortable beds. Bathroom and shower well designed. Be careful on the bathroom tiled floor--it is extremely slippery!!
Cons: HIRE MORE STAFF in the diner and check in area--which are one and the same. You are LOOSING BUSINESS. Patrons will NOT eat at that cafe-1 x is all!!
The motel is meticulously clean, the beds very comfortable, and very quiet despite the proximity to the freeway. The blackout curtains enable you to sleep in total darkness. The staff is friendly and obviously working hard. But the upper management is making a critical error in staffing the check in process, and diner, SO POORLY!!!!! It is foolish to expect that the restaurant staff can also facilitate check in and out between cooking and serving customers!!! Patrons will soon learn NOT to eat at the diner. You will wait, and wait, and wait for service--at a table that is not clean, and for coffee that is not offered or refilled. Eat in Dunsmuir at the fabulous Cornerstone Bakery and Cafe!! Great motel to stay at, but eat elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel of unexpected quality

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pleasant, clean, comfortable rooms and beds. Quiet! Friendly, helpful staff. Exercise room available in the event you are not exhausted by travel. We really liked the location, close to the highway, yet very private and surrounded by trees rather than on a busy street in a business district cluttered with fast food places.
5 out of 5
by Shanna from Madera, Ca

It's always a great stay!

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
It's always a great stay! It's clean, Penny's Diner has great food and it's quiet.