Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very convenient location and comfortable room

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: The service was good but the location for traveling and the breakfast were the best part of my stay. The room was extremely comfortable as well.
Cons: nothing all good.
Location: I didn't venture far but found an outlet center, restaurants and a movie theater all within about a half a mile. the biggest attraction for me was I57
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendale Heights, IL

Comfortable hotel that fit our needs

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Great staff, clean room, nice lobby and close to major restaurants. The parking lot was large and safe. We would stay there again and highly recommend them.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Very friendly nice

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Had fresh make cookies upon arrival Staff was excellent !rooms nice , bed very comfy nice would stay again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hampton is usually my first choice when traveling

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Quiet location and very accessible. Love the free breakfast each morning. The "breakfast lady" on Labor Day morning was open early (before 6am).
Cons: Wife and I used the pool one morning. Pool water was murky and seemed to be "over chlorined". Other than that, everything els was fine.
Location: Hotel is adjacent to Interstate 57 on the west side of Mt. Vernon, IL. Restaurants and shopping nearby. Great access.
My wife and I stayed here while in town visiting her Mother over the Labor Day weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Good location, right off major road, close to several restaurants (Cracker Barrel within walking distance in good weather), but quiet. Good breakfast.
Cons: see above about bathroom.
Good value and a nice hotel. Very quiet, even though not far from the highway. Food at the free breakfast was good and staff worked to keep it stocked and clean. The only complaint I had was with the bathroom. I am only 4' 10" tall and had a hard time brushing my teeth at the bathroom sink; even my husband who is a foot taller than I am, said the sink seemed too high. I wonder how little kids can use it. If they need to keep the sink so high (and with a bump out in the vanity where the sink is), they need to provide step stools for vertically challenged patrons. On the other hand, the toilet was low making it great for families with children, but not so great for adults, particularly senior citizens who have trouble getting up and down. Bathroom door also needs to be replaced or at least cleaned at the bottom as that is what is seen from the toilet and it looked like it hadn't been cleaned for some time. Picky details in what was otherwise a good experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

family meeting place

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: location. comfort
Cons: none
Location: Lake about 15 miles South. Great art museum in town. local wineries!
chose Mt. Vernon as a meeting place where we were coming from opposite directions. Chose Hampton Inn because they are always quiet and comfortable. they had a great breakfast. Our first night, the motel was full. Still quiet. Never ran out of parking spaces either! Found local sites to see!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S.E Kansas

Great hotel, nice secure location

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Young family stopped 1/2 through trip to sleep. Facility was very nice. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, but pillows were unsupportive mush.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Easy off, easy on Interstate. Lots of places to eat close by. Good breakfast.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Buffalo Wild Wings within walking distance and 10% discount for Hampton customers.
Just one night here while traveling. Perfect location for travelers.
3 out of 5
by JILL from Brookhaven GA

Ice Cold Room

Posted Jul 26, 2016 on Hotels
Have never had an issue with Hampton Inns, but an important one on this stay. Room was ice cold, really too cold, when we stepped in and it felt damp. Turned air down some, thinking it was because of the coldness of the room, but through the night the dampness remained - the carpet, pillows and sheets - UGH! As long as the room was ice cold, you also didn't smell the strange smells either. Breakfast was nice, but if I can't sleep well, the night is a bust!
4 out of 5
by Jason from Chicago


Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great hospitality