Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location-close to interstate and restaurants.

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Location
Location: We were just passing through on route to destination.
Traveling through and good location to stop for the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Matt B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. Our hotel prides itself on its location off interstates 57 & 64 so that our guests can easily access the hotel. The location also delivers great proximity to restaurants and shopping right off Broadway all within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Jan 8, 2018
I would have rated this higher except the front desk woman did not smile once and seemed more annoyed that she was working. She did not greet me or say thank you. I always smile and say hi- so that was off putting. The room was clean and roomy, and a nice place to stay for the night. They do ask if you have dogs to not leave them unattended in the room and if there is a complaint, you are asked to leave immediately. Also my room 112, does not have a curtain that closes all the way except for the sheer curtains- which was on the ground floor, the street light shines right in your face when you’re laying in bed, I’ve never stay d in a motel/hotel where you can’t close the curtains to keep the room dark- especially on the ground fooor for privacy as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Matt B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I will address your concerns with my staff. Our black out curtains are available in every room, you may have missed them as they are hard to find behind the thick decorative curtains. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice great and comfortable big room

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Gray and comfortable bedroom, excellent. Good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Matt B., Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from from Madison WI

Steps and transparent drapes!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Decided to try the budget side for a simple overnight en route. The plus: room was clean. The minuses: (1) no ground level room and apparently no elevator. As sixty-somethings, we don't like hauling our gear up and down stairs. There are seven steps down to our lower level room. This place should be listed as handicapped inaccessible. When I started to ask for first floor, when we checked in, saying we were in our 60s, the clerk interrupted me to say, "You are prepaid--I can't lower your rate." I wasn't asking that. Cheap hotel treats guests poorly, it seems. I also had to provide credit against incidentals we had not been asked for anywhere else. Clerk needs customer service skills. I know policy comes from higher up. (2) The clean room had transparent sheers on the window and no other blocking curtains. I parked our car in the space facing our window and easily saw my husband lying in bed watching TV after turning off headlights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2018 by Matt B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. Each room has black out curtains that can be used for your convenience. We also have 1st floor rooms where you can avoid using the stairs entirely. Thank you again for staying with us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Super 8 discount better than 4/5 star hotels but..

Posted Dec 19, 2017
The room was clean but didn’t smell like bleach. Breakfast and vending area were clean as well. Friendly staff. Late arrival with no problem. Pet friendly. Parking lot had plenty of lights in the dark and space to park truck & trailer despite being full. Easy to find, food nearby. Decent area. Nice tv, fridge, coffee pot and microwave in the room. Spacious clean bathroom with amenities. Only complaint was using Expedia to book last minute, it was over $80 for a room that usually cost around $60 taxes included. Even the woman who checked us in said online prices weren’t always the highest. I travel a lot on little $$. I usually always choose Super 8. No complaints about Mt. Vernon, IL location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Matt B. , Hotel Management
I appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

More than your money's worth

Posted Dec 18, 2017
This particular Super 8 wildly exceeded expectations. I was expecting ratty conditions and a general lack of concern. Instead, the room was clean and the staff was attentive. The part that shocked me the most was the pet relief area. I expected it to be overrun with dog waste. Instead, it was super-clean, not a doggie deposit in sight.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Matt B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive comments. We have a hard working staff. I will pass along your feedback to them. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for one night

Posted Dec 18, 2017
The hotel is comfortable and clean. Just good for one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Matt B. , Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

RACE MOTEL

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Looking for a motel for over nite stay for race weekend.Got much more.Great price & great room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017 by Matt B. , Hotel Management
We appreciate your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Someones dog barked across the hall until about 10 pm
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2017 by Matt B. , Hotel Management
I am sorry about the dog you had to hear during your stay. It sounds like the owner didn't return back to their room until 10 pm. Our front desk staff is available 24/7 and can accommodate next time by switching rooms when available. I am happy to know that everything else during your stay went well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Excellent

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Rooms location and access to restaurants
Cons: No
Location: See a above
Very clean and updated room. Very happy with room location and availale restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2017 by Matt B., Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive feedback. We appreciate you staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!