Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel, extremely friendly staff

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Location: Located near the train station. Actually in walking distance (30mins) to Pompeii ruins. Easy train journeys to Vesuvius and Herculaneum, Sorrento
I had a great 6 day stay at Costa Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful (but not imposing). Hotel is located very near the train station so easy access to Sorrento and also to Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculaneum. Room was nice and functional, bed was very comfy. The staff were a high point. Always helpful and very friendly
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Close to Pompei but will need a car not nice area

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The owner was nice. Clean.
Cons: Have better personnel at nights. Air conditioning.
Location: Pompei City Pompei Ruins
The hotel is fairly nice and well kept but in my opinion not a 4 star, and the staff is generally nice. Close to Pompei and ruins, by car. Located in residential area that gets very lonely at night, was scary when arriving late. There is no front desk only a guard at night, he doesn't know much how to treat guests or solve typical concerns or issues. For example their AC broke for the whole hotel at 2AM at night and the response was "sorry, I can't do anything, you can leave if you want" of course they would not reimburse the night. Other than that experience with the AC the rest of the staff were very nice, they even kept the breakfast open late that morning as they understood we would wake up late because of the tough night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

hotel Costa

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean
Location: You will need to use a train or taxi as nothing is nearby to this hotel.
The Hotel Costa is a two star hotel at best. It is located in the middle of nowhere with its only good point the train station close by. The bathroom is too small and you can't open the windows at night because of the sound of the adjacent main road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Lovely staff really helpful, went out of their way to give advice booked tours etc, we even left with a pack up for the journey back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelmsford UK

welcoming hotel in an unwelcoming suburb

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean, very friendly helpful staff, attractive room, welcoming foyer and bar area, attractive frontage. Superb breakfast inclusive too
Cons: Don't small things just niggle? No tea/coffee making facilities in room and the cheek to charge E1.50 for a small bottle of water in the room fridge!
Location: Although hard to find its very near Pompeii and access to Sorrento and only 300m from the Napoli Expressway (but annoying E2 each time you get on it)
missed the road and took 5 miles to get back--not too easy to find this hotel down a tiny side street in the rush hour. Very modern, well-appointed but in a dubious, brutta suburb of Napoli with no restaurants and night-time shops nearby (although hotel offers dinner if required). Made the mistake of trying to park in the basement and nearly couldn't get out as the ramp was so steep and I had to give every wellie the little Fiat had got ( 3 stalled attempts first!). Aircon was amusing --when you switch on it doesn't blow cold until you phone Reception and they then 'regulate' it. Worked fine after that. Hotel backs right on to the busy Pompeii to Sorrento road but rooms well soundproofed and traffic dies to nothing early evening. Surroundings are a very low-quality housing area so hotel is certainly a rose amongst thorns, but seemingly not a worrisome crime area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tim from Australia

A clean hotel run by great staff

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Clean room, responsive staff
Cons: WiFi intermittent and unreliable
Location: This hotel sits next to a freeway and rail line. Double glazed windows sort of work to reduce noise
The staff were fantastic: welcoming, responsive, clean rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from London, UK

Excellent

Posted May 23, 2013
Pros: The helpfulness of the staff
Location: Well located for Pompeii and Herculaneum.
We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The hotel is well placed for visits to Pompeii and Herculaneum, easily accessed by the local railway. It is a modern (2009), simple and reasonably priced hotel. The staff were especially helpful and hospitable. We dined in the hotel each night because we enjoyed the good, local cuisine and wine. Although the hotel is close to a railway line there was no noise problem. I'd certainly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay at the Costa.

Posted May 3, 2013
Friendly staff, very near the train station, nice balcony with a view, it's quiet, simple and comfortable accomodation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Lancing, West Sussex, UK

Excellent hotel, good value for money

Posted Oct 1, 2012
A clean and comfortable hotel run by very efficient, pleasant and helpful staff. There is no kettle in the rooms. A bit out of the way and near a busy, noisey road which you don't notice once inside. There is a train station opposite which we used daily to get around, a very cheap way to travel. The food was superb and reasonably priced, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a little disappointing as there was no fruit or cold meats as advertised on their site, but plenty of cake, toast ( not as we know it but in small packets and cold), croissants, limited cereals, fruit juice and tea or coffee. Overall we had a very good experience of this hotel and would recommend it to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Odd location, fantastic staff.

Posted Jun 30, 2012
Pros: The staff.
Cons: It's location.
Location: In the rural area south of Pompei, nothing around without taking a taxi.
I got into town late and started walking in the wrong direction from the train station, my fault. Eventually ran into a cafe that was staffed with probably the 3 nicest people in Italy. After I ate dinner, one of them drove me to the hotel. The hotel was to the south of the ruins of Pompei and definitely not where I would have thought the hotel was. The only thing that the hotel was close to, is the ruins, the actual town of Pompei is on the opposite side. The hotel looked great and was a surprise in contrast to the rural surroundings. The hotel staff and the population speak little to no english, so be prepared. In the hotel I carried my Galaxy tablet, connected to Wifi on the Google translate page. Nellio (Nello?) is an amazing bellhop/waiter and even drove me to the train station when it was time for me to leave.