Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McDonough, Georgia

Near town and the ruins

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Very cold, only the bedroom was heated. It would be a nice place to stay in the spring or fall, we were there in January.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Okay hotel, not great, no English, breakfast joke.

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: What I liked about the hotel is that the manager who greets you is nice and willing to help you with your luggage but he can't speak good english.
Cons: What could be improved is that they could install a fragrance. Also they should have a bigger shower. Owner quarters could be separate from hotel.
Location: The location of it is relatively good because near the hotel there is markets, restaurants and Pompei Ruins.
The hotel would be a 2 stars in my opinion because firstly neighbors could look into your room because lock didn't work and balcony curtains were flimsy. Secondly you will find there are not many other people staying in Hotel Astoria so it has a very creepy and eerie feel to it. Thirdly the beds there are too squeaky, the shower is tiny and you can barely fit in it.
5 out of 5
by Roman from San Jose, CA

a nice, no-nonsense place to stay in Pompeii

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
A nice, no-nonsense place to stay in Pompeii. Very close to the excavations and the Vesuvius bus stop, nice restaurants nearby. Private spacious parking lot at the back, gated off at night. Place is family-operated, and they really care about it. Very eager to help you make the best of your stay, and we were very happy with their suggestions for dining and attractions (take the city bus up to the crater, way cheaper and way more fun). Ask them for guidance. I don't think there is an elevator (we didn't care but some will). Note that room A/C is on some central control, make sure you request it be left on all night if you want it.
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Isabelle from Bath

June 2016

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Had a lovely stay at Hotel Astoria in June. The neighbourhood was a nice area just a short walk from loads of restaurants. And only a 30 min walk from the Pompeii ruins. The service was polite and professional. Breakfast was good as well. Would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good Value

Posted Apr 20, 2016
This is a small, family-run hotel located in the centre of modern Pompeii. The hotel is located close to some restaurants/supermarkets, and we found the front desk to be welcoming. My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way from Rome to the Amalfi Coast. We wanted to see the ruins and viewed this merely as a place to rest our heads and receive breakfast in the morning before a busy day seeing ancient Pompeii and then heading south. On those standards we were very satisfied with this hotel. Our room was spacious and very, very clean. The wi-fi worked well (better than most hotels) and we had a pleasant sleep. The breakfast wasn't great, but it was certainly better than some of the other reviews suggest! It had all of the typical elements for continental breakfast in Italy (fruit, croissants, cereal, etc.). So we have no complaints. The hotel itself and the location relative to the ruins isn't great, but it's very workable. And for the price this is a very good place to stay. If you arriving by train I would suggest getting a taxi to the hotel or calling the hotel to see if they can pick you up (apparently they've done this before, see reviews below). My wife and I walked from the station at night and it was an unpleasant 25 minute walk. But this was our choice and no fault of the hotel. The walk to the ruins in the morning was much better. All in all, a solid budget hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2016 by rere, Hotel Management
Noi riteniamo che i clienti siano persone da rispettare e aiutare in quanto non pratici dei luoghi e delle regole del posto. Noi consigliamo sempre ai clienti che telefonano quali sono le condizioni migliori per arrivare presso di noi. Saluti e grazie di averci scelto.
4 out of 5
by Annette from Minneapolis

Pompei budget friendly clean hotel.

Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed 1 night. The room met our needs. It's not fancy but a clean comfortable place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
This is a very clean, well kept hotel. The owner and his family were extremely helpful and made sure that all our needs were met far beyond our expectations. The hotel is next to a busy street so I would not recommend this hotel to a light sleepers The hotel is close to the Pompei railway station serviced by train Italian. Do not take the circumvesuvian line to Pompei Savior as that station is a long walk from the hotel
2 out of 5
by Gideon from Atlanta

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Hotel Astoria Pompei for one night. The hotel has large parking area. The hotel is old and very basic, located on the main Pompei road and it looks like a part of an apartment building. Nevertheless, we got rroms not on the road side and it was quite. Breakfast was basic. We could not control the AC temperature in the room as it was controlled by the men in the reception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, lovely hosts and great value!

Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
The Italian couple who run the hotel are lovely people! The room was a really good size and breakfast was good. We got a full Italian breakfast of homemade croissants, cake, fruit, juice, yogurt and a coffee. The location was good, 5 minute walk to the town centre, 5 minutes from Pompeii train station and only a short walk to the ruins! Excellent value for money. The only down side was the hotel is located on the busy main road which was noisy and the bed could be a bit more comfortable. We had a really good stay here for 3 days and I would recommend it and go back :)