Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good location, friendly people

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The people.
Cons: We were there at the end of January. We could have used a little more heat.
Location: Within walking distance of the amphitheater in the ruins. We passed several cafes, bars, and restaurants to get there. Don't need more that.
The Hotel Maiuri in modern Pompei is within walking distance of the church square and one of the entrances to the ruins of ancient Pompeii. The hotel has its own restaurant directly across the street. We had dinner there several nights during the week we stayed in town and were never dissatisfied. The greatest thing about the hotel, though, is the people who work there--friendly, energetic, informative. When we asked for a taxi to some farther part of town, staff members drove us. They even took us to the rail station on the morning we left for Calabria. Our pidgin Italian and the staff's command of English made it easy to find our way around town, even to a laundromat. If we go back to Pompei, we will stay at the Maiuri again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by info@hotelmaiuri, Hotel Management
Dear Mr Harry and Mrs Joahnn , Thank you very much for your positive review,following your stay with us. I am very glad that you thoroughly enjoyed the location and our restaurant. All the staff thank you for having appreciaded their attentions towards you and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Andrea Tranfo /Hotel Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Istanbul

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything especially staff
Location: It's around 2 km far from the Ancient Pompeii.
The hotel has 4 stars but I don't know where they got those stars from. As an experienced traveler I can definitely say this hotel is in 2 star category and it doesn't deserve even 3 stars. After checking-in I realized the toilet in my room was dirty and I directly went to the reception but the receptionist couldn't speak English well but as far as he understood me he said he can't do anything about to resolve the problem. Breakfast was poor and the toaster was unclean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close enough to every thing and nice and quiet

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
A very nice experience, staff were terrific, my adapter for charging phone laptop etc didn't work right, but the staff a front desk lent me one free of charge for my stay. The shower was tiny, but having said that at least it worked well and the plumbing was good, which couldn't be said of everywhere we stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice hotel, walking distance to the ruins

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: Clean, great staff, walking distance to anything you need.
Location: Great restaurant across the street, walking distance to the train station and to the ruins of Pompeii.
We loved our stay at Hotel Maiuri. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the breakfast was amazing (coffee, eggs made fresh, croissants and pasteries, fresh fruit, etc), and our balcony had a beautiful view. It was walking distance to the ruins of Pompeii and to the train station, both roughly 15 minutes. Very clean. There is also a great restaurant right across the street, super affordable but AMAZING food and wine. The only downside I can say was that the WiFi was super slow, which was annoying as I didn't have a data plan so was relying strictly on WiFi, but really not the end of the world -- good to have the excuse to disconnect from reality for a night :)
5 out of 5
by Graziano from Canada

Great!

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
I had personal problems but the manager and staff accommodated me and made my stay very memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Very helpful and friendly staff

Posted Jul 26, 2016
After a day where everything went wrong we were greeted by staff who were eager to help with everything we found the room to be the most comfortable of the trip so far
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from North carolina

Hotel Maiuri is a gem!

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
We only stayed in Hotel Maiuri for one night but we can't say enough wonderful things about our experience - especially the hotel staff. Andrea was prticularly helpful with directions and securing taxi service and we couldn't have had a better time. It was a great value, breakfast was fantastic and the hotel was very clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Mamdoh from Dubai

Convenient, clean and affordable

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here as it was near Pompeii where we were touring, 5mins drive from the site of the ruins. The hotel has free parking. The Hotel itself looks a little dated, however the rooms were clean and the service was very good, as was the breakfast surprisingly. The kitchen staff spoke limited English, however it was funny trying to explain what we needed and eventually we managed to get to an understanding, try the tomatoes they are amazing. They had the Fortitudo Pallacanestro Bologna basketball team staying over at the same time, so the hotel is also used by Italians. Very convenient hotel, served its purpose well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Room was small but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good. Staff was nice.
4 out of 5
by Charles from Philadelphia

Close to Pompeii

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
Short and sweet. No complaints. Nice.