Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Most beautiful setting

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Mellow, relaxed , beautiful. Such an amazing setting. The hotel grounds are perfect. The rooms delightful. The staff are excellent. Food very good. Loved it. Would love to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 17, 2017 by Sarah Chailan, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We want to thank you for your comments. We are very sensitive to the remarks of our clients. It allows us to understand client's perception and what we need to do to improve our service. First of all, our entire team would like to thank you for all your words about your stay, it is the best answer we can get after a stay. We hope to see you again at la Bastide de Moustiers to provide you a service which match with your needs. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One of a kind

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Absolute perfection. Charming, stylish, elegant, best Chef on site,...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Antonin Pelloux, Hotel Management
Dear Madam, Dear Sir, We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Expedia. Your positive feedback is a real encouragement for our team. We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind comment. The whole Team will look forward to welcoming you again at la Bastide de Moustiers. Yours sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Lovely grounds and gardens! Not many indoor spaces to sit and relax though. Our room was converted from the servants' quarters. It was quaint though small. I liked the bed. The bathroom was very clean. The restaurant is okay — for a total seating of 32 people and 4 staff members at front of the house (host and sommelier included), they seemed rushed and scattered. They forgot one of my drink requests. The tasting menus were good generally. The soupe au pistou was delicious, with fresh herbs and vegetables directly from the gardens, but the portion of pork was too bland and generous.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Maxim from New York

Hidden Gem

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely incredible. Friendly staff, AMAZING food, beautiful views. Would highly recommend.
3 out of 5
by Kim from California

Overpriced

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
I was disappointed with our visit. In my booking request I specifically stated "spacious" as we travel for 2 months and have considerable luggage. accommodation was very small, although attractive and once we had semi unpacked (there was only a tiny wardrobe etc.) we felt very uncomfortable. To be fair, when we explained our concerns, we were moved to another room, which was slightly larger. Staff were very helpful and pleasant and did their best. However, the Bastide in our opinion is overpriced and did not even include breakfast which was an additional EUR50.00 for two persons and was fairly modest in comparison with the delicious and plentiful breakfasts served in Austria and Italy. For the price charged we expected a larger and more comfortable room and certainly breakfast included. We feel that our booking request was not given sufficient consideration, even though we understand that it can only be a "request", we should have been informed in advance that rooms are tiny as we would not have booked with this establishment. The biting flies are a very real problem at this time of the year and we do feel that the Bastide could have made an effort to use "plug in" deterrants in room and public areas and also by the pool. Having the cheese consumed by flies before being served was very offputting. Its a very unpleasant and serious problem and needs to be addressed. Can only hope that the kitchen has some sort of fly screens!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
by Gerald from Seattle

Moustier Sainte-Marie

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful property in a wonderful village
5 out of 5
by Linda from London

Can't wait to go back...

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
Charming boutique hotel near the picturesque town of Moustiers-Sainte-Marie & lake of Sainte-Croix. Stunning scenery + loads to do around: hiking, climbing, kayaking, paragliding. Tons of walking paths in the area too, though be warned: it's so beautiful you'll probably have to stop every 2 metres to take a photo... Hotel staff couldn't be more helpful / friendlier. Restaurant serves top-notch gourmet food. We had such a great time that we started planning for our next trip there as soon as we boarded the plane back to London - obviously with a stay at La Bastide de Moustiers!
5 out of 5
by Jkingston from San Francisco

A wonderful hotel and restaurant

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
This is a lovely hotel. It is set into beautifully laid out and maintained gardens which ooze charm. The staff is extremely welcoming and friendly. Our room was lovely and quiet. I can think of only two criticisms. First, although the restaurant is solidly worth its one Michelin star, they were a touch rigid in dealing with the menu. When we wanted to substitute one item on set menu, the answer was a rather brusque "no". That lack of accommodation was not fitting to the ambiance of the hotel and restaurant. Second, the wifi is pre-historically slow. But that often is the case in French hotels.
4 out of 5
by Marge from Colorado

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful setting. Lovely room. Excellent food but overpriced.