Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Henrik from Fredensborg

Fantastic view

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel with a stunning view, quiet neighborhood and only a few rooms. Fantastic service. No restaurant at the hotel besides breakfast but close to good restaurants. A lovely terrace with pool and views against three horisoner
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
Synes det var for dyrt for en overnatning i forhold til det vi fik for prisen. Har overnattet på andre B&B i området, hvor det var meget billigere og hvor vi fik mere for pengene. Forstår ikke, at det er et 5-stjernet B&B. Fik opvarmede croissanter, som ikke var fra samme dag. Poolen indbød ikke til, at man benyttede den - trængte til at blive renset og indtrykket generelt var, at huset var nedslidt.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
Sehr schönes kleines Hotel mit super Service. Leider in nicht ganz so schöner Umgebung.
5 out of 5
by Karl from Kennett square

Live like a local in this new apartment!

Posted Dec 25, 2015 on Hotels
A brand new apartment conveniently located to the attractions of the V&A waterfront area. Safe and secure with nice views of Table Mountain out the front balcony.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tennessee, USA

Excellent and central to Cape Town attractions

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Facilities, location and staff
Cons: Can't think of a think...
Beautiful, small hotel located on hillside with views of lake and ocean. Tastefully decorated with antiques and art work acquired during owners travels. Perfectly located for easy access to the wine area, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Cape Point, Table Mountain, etc. Having your own car or renting one is advisable. Driving on the left was NOT a problem. Hotel staff is outstanding! Each day David inquired about our plans, checked weather or other details and ensured we had good driving information. I arrived suffering from a case of food poisoning from airplane food. They even brought me meds to help alleviate my symptoms! Since the hotel is on a hillside, there are steps leading up to the hotel. You do not have to walk a long way, but simply need to be able to walk up steps safely. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend staying here!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Our stay was pleasant and both staff and owner were very attentive to our needs. The problem was in the descriptions of the location and facilities. Internet was slow and not not available most times Finally the biggest problem we had was with the conditions of reservations stated and later handling of expuda for our request. We called on 13th to change the departure to 15th long distance from South Africa and after 20 Minutes were told all has been taken care off. Again we called on 14 th and found nothing has been updated on the reservation after the owner confirmed that she had not received an email this time I was put on hold for half an hour and the expedia agent came back assuring all is done. Finally on day of check out the owner tells us that expedia is lying and I am liable for remaining three nights When I called again there was no changes made to reservation and when I talked to supervisor he said I am telling now you have to pay This is both unbusisiness like and I wish to lodge a complaint
4 out of 5
by Louise from Sherbrooke

Life in a small castle

Posted May 7, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful getaway in a quiet neighbourhood but remote so that a car is needed , Personnel was diligent to help out The breakfeast is cooked to order and varied
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Oasis of calm

Posted May 3, 2015
We stayed here for 3 nights April 2015 arriving from the UK. Hotel is in a quiet location excellently placed for exploring the Cape. Cape Town is 35 minutes away. Discrete and gracious owners and staff. Very helpful in providing us with touring information, dinner reservations and transport to the cruise terminal. Rooms are tastefully decorated and full of antiques and many thoughtful extras such as range of books, carafe of water, sherry, fresh fruit. We have travelled extensively and always try and book small, independent luxury hotels and Colonna Castle is one of the best we have enjoyed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from München

Traumhotel pur in familiärer Atmosphäre

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Ein Gefühl das sich nicht in Worte beschreiben lässt! Man ist einfach nur willkommen dort! Absolut empfehlenswert!!!
5 out of 5
by Marianne from Gothenburg

You really, really must stay here!

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels
Absolutely fantastic ! I travelled with my daughter (10YO) and could not ask for anything else. The attention to detail, the service level, the room and amenities, the dinner served on our night or arrival (with the addition of my daughter's request, even included in the printed menu on her behalf!), absolutely fabulous! My daughter and I were both treated like queens. The room (Green Room) was spacious and well equipped, a glass of sherry waited on arrival, the fridge got stocked up with your favorite items. Enormous bathroom and the most luxurious bath robes I have ever worn. The beds were incredibly comfortable, lovely soft sheets and thick duvets. Heaven! It is worth taking a trip to Cape Town just to stay here! Many, many thanks to Nicole and Michael with their whole fantastic team for a memorable stay!