Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GB

Nice spot in the Maldives

Posted Jan 29, 2015
We have been here twice. It is a good hotel on a beautiful island. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing even though sometimes kids can be annoying.
1 out of 5
by Itay from France

pass

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
nothing special
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Medhufushi Island Resort trip

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The resort was beatiful and staffs were friendly.
Cons: Food may need to be more creative. Sushi bar was not that great. Need to cut shashimie better.
Location: Go snorkle and scuba dive because you are in Maldive. Beautiful marine life every where.
This was our first time staying at Medhufushi Island Resort . We stayed there for 5 nights in the Over Water Bungalow. The resort is beatiful and food was good. We did the haft board deal which includ breakfast and dinner. The resort provided free snokling tour which was a bonus and nightly entertainment at one of the bar restaurant. We were here in October so the weather was kind of raining on and off. But, over all we had the best time here. The staffs here are wonderful people.
1 out of 5
by Itay from France

Dirty piece of land - important!

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
Read this review of the island if you really want to know what's going on there. That unprofessional pack back on the island would always throw in how their island is a paradise when in fact you get a diariya from the food every single night - not the stuff paradises are made of! My wife and I got there for a honeymoon - to which we have been congragulated with a couple of joined twin beds!!! When asking to move to a new room they wanted us to stay at the same room for 2 out of 4 nights! After arguing we finally slept there for 1 night only :( After moving to our new room we where accused of drinking half the drinks at the minibar - by the room cleaner! After telling him we did not drink the drinks he argued with us - and he doesn't even know English.. He would just keep on saying: "there was drinks, there was drinks" No matter what we have told him. As some sort of a punishement he wouldn't feel the minibar. We went to the reception to clean our bill. At the last day we discovered that the room cleaner charged us again for the same drinks he did not feel on the first day!!! We were promissed that the room is cleaned twice a day and that towels are changed twice as well.. after arguing with the room cleaner on the first day he never came into our room for the secong time! We got half of what we have paid for! Overall stay wasn't really pleasent.. Constant feeling that you should pay the island more if you want to enjoy.. Fake smiles and lousy attractions to make you get bored quicker.. And if you've forgot to bring your own snorkel and mask with you?! Prepare to pay 10$ per day for it! As if you don't pay 300 of them already.. Diving costs are twice as they are normally are at any other place in the world - and if you think they will take tou to the best location you are wrong! You must wait until you dive a few times - no one will take you to the best diving spots before you pay everything they can take from you.. The beach is white but nothing too special.. Reaf's all dead and almost no fish. A real paradise is found on the other side of the Indian ocean - where the seychelles are (where we are pleasently continuing our honeymoon). Enjoy.
5 out of 5
by Anthony from San Diego

Beautiful! Get all inclusive package

Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel and staff were amazing. Very laid back and relaxing. Not a place for kids. Make sure you book an all inclusive package. Food is Expensive in the maldives. My only complaint was the ocean water was dirty time to time but not just at our hotel, other areas were dirty too. Really sad to see trash in the water in a place so beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great stay but with some unpleasence

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
It is my second time in Maldives. Medhufushi resort is good.However, the room size is not so big, both water villa and beach villa. The yard is small and has no jaccuzi. Besides, it is a relative populous island with dense villas.There is no tennis court and only one swimming pool and one dinning hall. The swimming pool is not as good as the one I stayed last time and the dinning hall is crowded. I think the hotel just makes space for more room with many beach villas still empty and idle. The staff is very friendly and I saw a lot of fish very easily around,though there is no coral reefs around.The resort has free snorkeling trip every day except Wednesday. We went every time and it was great! We went to different places and the crew are very nice and helpful. The accompanied unskilled kids for snorkeling. The only unpleasantness is the reception employee, the one we went for checking out. He asked as several times for tips.When he found us change, he first gave us some dollars less.After we checked the amount, he gave us the rest reluctantly. Then he asked to see our home currency , trying for tips another time. I appreciate everything the staff do for us, but this person really only does print the receipt ,he does not deserve it.
4 out of 5
by JT from Singapore

Posted Jul 31, 2014 on Hotels
The only downside was that there was no staff to receive us at Male airport for the transfer via seaplane. We needed to look out for ourselves and make our way around to locate the seaplane venue.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel with lovely room

Posted Jul 15, 2014
i love this wood room facing the beach, you have lot of choice about the food and they change the type every day. the
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing Honeymoon

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
Amazing resorts at an affordable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Haylz from Perth, Western Australia

Perfect Honeymoon Spot.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Great staff, very focused on high service standards. Water villa was fantastic, I was glad we spent the extra to get one.
Cons: Not enough free water provided - 1L per day for 2 adults is not enough. 7.30pm dinner service was too late, we eat at 6 usually.
Location: Snorkelling is a must, don't bother with the groups, go by yourself. We saw turtles and sting rays and all kinds of fish. Also the 'fun sports'!
We stayed here for 10 days on our honeymoon. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. We spent our days snorkelling, swimming, relaxing, and simply staring off our deck at the beautiful surrounds. It was a 40 minute seaplane ride to and from Male Airport, but I think that the seaplane ride was an experience in itself (bring earplugs, the engines can be a bit too noisy for some people.) We had a Water Villa, sunrise side, which in our opinion was much better, no glaring sun in the afternoon heat meant we could spent our afternoons comfortable on the deck. I would have been kicking myself if we'd gone all the way to paradise and not spent a little extra on the room. The buffet had a good selection, with some staples and always a new dish to try each night - Sri Lankan Egg Hoppers are my new favourite thing! We were half board, originally we thought we could get away with it but with dinner starting so late (730pm) and breakfast finishing at 945am, it was just too long a time to go without eating. All the same it was much nicer to order room service or stroll to the restaurant adjoining the Vilu Bar. Also cheaper than to pay to sit in the buffet for a 3rd time in a day. Read the information sheets they give you, there are some great free activities but the staff don't verbally advertise them, and if no one shows up they cancel. We very nearly missed out on crab racing because there was not enough people signed up - we went and grabbed people to join!