Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great Location, Great Staff

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Excellent staff, great breakfast, good location, clean
Cons: Repair the window and its screen
Location: Very close to Victoria Terminus and a short ride to the Gateway and museums
Overall this was a really great hotel for the price. The staff were outstanding, the breakfast was good and it's in a great location. The room was clean, but the window in the bathroom was stuck permanently ajar. Just enough to make the bathroom constantly hot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Centrally-located hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Good hotel located in quiet area used for photoshoots etc. 10 mins walk from CST station and short walk from all the main sights e.g. Colaba, Gateway to India etc. Staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent buffet breakfast with lots of options e.g. Indian and Continental. Our twin room was spacious with a window on to the street. Not the cheapest hotel but when compared with other places we stayed in outside Mumbai you certainly got what you paid for!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Quite , peaceful, old heritage building with a great view of the Bombay docks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carlisle, Uk

Lovely quiet location

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Ebookers
What a fantastic end to our honeymoon staying at the Grand Hotel. The staff were very helpful and done everything they possibly could to make us comfortable. Looking forward to returning on our next India adventure!
2 out of 5
by Morissa

Buyer Beware!

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
Well, we got food poisoning from the buffet breakfast, and the room was NOT as described! The hotel claims it has memory foam mattresses, but the mattress was a very old, thin spring mattress that was so hard we did not sleep for 4 nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A good, clean midrange hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
I was looking for a Bombay hotel that was: 1. Colonial - this one is 90 years old and very British in style. 2. Clean and modernish inside - online searches showed that it had recently been refurbished. Had a rain shower and wooden albeit utilitarian furniture. No musty smell or accumulated years of mold or dirt. 3. Walking distance to the Wankhede stadium but not too close as the only exercise I was going to get over 5 days of watching cricket was the walk from/to the hotel. It's about 25 minutes and an easy peasy route. The Grand ticked all the boxes above. The staff could also not have been nicer - ever polite and helpful. Breakfast was basic but everyday there were sausages & some form of eggs, Indian selections (sambhar, Channa masala etc), cereal & toast, fruit and drinks. The hot drinks were, it has to be said, dreadful but I walked past a chai stall everyday en route to the cricket so I got my daily dose of tea. The reasons I'm not giving it a higher rating are twofold: the hot water is only on at certain times of the day (fine if you're operating on a 9-5 schedule but tourists don't do that) and the wifi connection was poor. Google, facebook and messaging were supported well but it could be temperamental otherwise. Aircon and fans were good btw. The road outside was also quiet so together with the blackout curtains, a sound sleep was guaranteed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not recommend

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Very poor breakfast, hotel not so clean, loud AC-impossible to sleep, smelly towels, stained bedding, lonby and room smelled awfully of mold. No window. Awful and overpriced. Location secluded and far from tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Though I was alone, room was booked for 2 people. A relative spent one night and I was charged an extra fee after an argument.The fee ultimately was reversed, but it was an annoying incident so late at night when all we wanted to do is crash.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Quiet And Comfortable

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Very comfortable room. Great bed. A/con plus ceiling fan a must. Excellent base for exploring old Mumbai.
Cons: Wi fi a little slow and flaky. No bar to relax in - have to sit in the restaurant - but comfy enough.
Location: Short walk to Victoria Terminus colonial buildings. Don't miss the Prince of Wales Museum if you're into Indian art. Britannia Restaurant is a must.
Standard room was more than adequate. Comfortable and clean. Nice firm bed, just how I like it. Efficient and friendly staff who were helpful and knowledgeable. Although still can't get used to staff opening doors for me. Good breakfast of either Indian or continental variety. Coffee a bit weak at first but when I asked for it 'extra strong' it came perfectly done.