Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fareham. England.

Good base hotel.

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Stayed 5th to 16th December. Used as a base for cricket. It was an adequate hotel. But the staff were very good, very helpful and as for Mr Singh at reception he was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Be very careful if booking and staying here

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: The roof top bar and restaurant - when you are allowed to use it !!
Cons: A lot, including being honest with the guests, not having the housekeeping almost demanding tips, clean the tables for breakfast, I could go on...
I will start with the pros: Good location for local restaurants, sights, transport links. And the manager (owner ?), Mr Singh seems pretty genuine. Cons: I had booked well in advance through Expedia. I receieved confirmation of my booking. However, when I arrived at the hotel, I was informed by the duty manager that I would not be staying there. But instead, next door at the Garden Hotel. They were full ! So they had taken my booking, but could not accomodate me. I was advised that this was because a family who had been staying there had not vacated as planned. Anyway, I went along to the Garden Hotel. And instantly got the feeling that this was not the same standard, even though the manager had told me so. I went back to discuss this. And was told flatly that they had no rooms and I had to stay next door. After discussing with the duty manager at the Garden Hotel, he let it slip that his hotel (although owned by the same people) was in fact a 2 star. And the Godwin was a 3 Star. So, I was getting a lesser standard hotel for what I had paid for. Only after presevering did I get the promise of a transfer the next morning, and to be fair they gave me dinner on the house. The room I did get however, was on the 2nd floor and was shabby. Windows don't close properly, The hotel has a bar and restaurant on the roof. But for 2 or the 4 nights I was there they had booked it out for a private function. No hotel residents allowed. Overall I would give this hotel a wide berth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Value from money with great location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Spacious room...n the lane...is quiet,good staff n was happy to get the room from a shower now rest after I checked out.
Cons: The elevator...u hv to really...squeeze into it..the bfast..spread is not that lavish
Location: Wonderful shopping...n walking distance to taj mahal hotel n gateway of india
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
breakfast is small with limited options. Central location for tourism and shopping on a quiet street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is in a good location. The breakfast is pathetic. Attention needs to be paid to the cleanliness. The rooms walls are dirty. The workers should have clean decent uniforms and they should NOT be allowed to use sandals or there "chappals".
2 out of 5
by Rajkumar from Chennai

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Not great for the money ! I would prefer better hotel for the money !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Solid hotel, terrific service, amazing location

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Location: You're a two-minute walk from Gateway of India, Leopold's, the museum, and the rest of South Mumbai's delights. What more could you want?
Hotel Godwin has an amazing location and provides immense value for the money. The room was spacious and well-apportioned, with a good view of South Mumbai. The daily breakfast buffet was delicious and had good variety. A lot of local Indians and tourists alike were staying here. Service was good and helpful; the manager is charming and funny and took great care of us. He even gave us a tip on how to get to Pune Rooftop bar was popular among locals. Also, the box of bottled water you can buy from room service for Rs 200 is a great deal!
5 out of 5
by Alison from New zealand

Safe haven

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels
This is my third stay at the Godwin. The staff are all amazing characters and dedicated to their work. Location is right near the busy shopping but the hotel is in a quiet leafy road. Beautiful roof top garden with views for miles. Best curry in the city served at the roof top garden. Love this hotel. The following has nothing to so with the Godwins great service Only downside was I booked through Hotel.com and paid directly to the hotel. Expedia sister company to Hotels.com also booked me at the hotel. After many emails and phone calls Expedia admitted they had messed up but I see Expedia have withdrawn over a thousand dollars from my bank account. Get your computers sorted Expedia/ Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by M from U.K.

very conveniently located, pleasant staff.

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Cons: The common facilities (corridors, stairs and lifts) are small, but this is difficult to change!
The hotel and staff met our expectations. The location was excellent and enabled us to explore Mumbai on foot, at all hours, safely. Definitely worth remembering for short stays.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels