Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow, Russia

Terrible hotel in Mumbai

Posted Feb 9, 2017
We arrived at the hotel NEW BENGAL in Mumbai at 13 Jan 2017. I booked 3 rooms for 2 nights from 13 Jan until 15 Jan. But at the reception staff immediately told to me that they can give us the rooms only for one night, even though we paid for two nights. To my question "why ?" they said, that I made a reservation via Expedia, paid to Expedia, so I must call and ask to Expedia. And hotel is full booked for second night. I said that Expedia payd to hotel for two nights, but they told to me, that they not received any money. As a result, in the morning 14 Jan we were evicted, but were allowed to leave the luggage until the evening because in the evening can be vacant rooms. It was free. In the evening we were offered the cheapest rooms. This rooms were not the ones for which we paid, and the cheapest (I have photo). It was also asked to pay for the towels because in these rooms we must pay for the towels. When I said that I payd for the more expensive rooms, we were given towels free.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

Expensive hotel for no value for money

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I paid lot money online booking and room was different on website but when checked in, i was been allocated to very different room at dark corner. Bed sheet was not clean at all. Pillows so dirty. Will not suggest to any one for this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Hotel New Bengal, Hotel Management
Dear Fehmi, Greetings from Hotel New Bengal !!! We thank you for booking with us and we apologize for any disruption in your stay. However we would like you to know that the rooms are that you have been given the same room which you booked for, please check the name of the room which you saw online. Please feel for any assistance. Regards Hotel New Bengal
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

All cover, no book

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: It was in a very interesting and central part of town. Next to a major railway station. There was air-conditioning and pay TV
The Hotel New Bengal looks quite nice in photographs and even not too disastrous from the exterior. The foyer is well kept and there is a functioning lift and the rooms are air conditioned. It is a far stretch from living on the street but not what you would call a hotel. There is a lot of exposed wiring, much exposed construction relic (rubble, brinks, concrete bags etc) and many of the rooms are only 3/4 length walls. The hygiene of the bathrooms, especially the shared washrooms is highly questionable and although the porter staff are very friendly and helpful, the staff at reception are very disinterested in you and many extra charges and tips pop up unexpectedly. I didn't feel safe leaving valuables in the room so I brought all things of worth with me on daily outings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2017 by Hotel New Bengal, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Ma'am Greetings from Hotel New Bengal !!! We thank you for booking with us and we apologize for any disruption in your stay. However we would like you to know that we have renovated the hotel and upgraded the rooms and services. Please give us a chance to serve you again in the same. Regards Hotel New Bengal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Great location for real India area.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Central location.
Cons: Restaurant on site for breakfast. Had to go three doors down. Big building project continually from our last visit last year.
Location: Everything on hand. Great Indian area.
Local area. Market 200 yards away. resturants and cafe's on the doorstep. Not tourist area therefore no begging and touting. Next to railway station. School of Art and crafts. Taxi's outside. Lots of street activity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Hotel New Bengal, Hotel Management
Dear Scott Greetings from Hotel New Bengal !!! We thank you for booking with us. Please give us a chance to serve you again in the same. Regards Hotel New Bengal
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
I would advise staying somewhere else. It's just not a nice place, there were cats in the third floor hallways and the first flood was still being built. When I arrived they put me in a really low grade room even though I'm pretty sure I booked something better. They did try and put me in a better room but at a cost. The whole thing just wasn't a pleasant experience, find somewhere else, your better off.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We regret to know that you had a bad experience with the hotel. The entire property is being refurnished to gain total guest satisfaction. We have also hired a much more efficient and professional staff to take care of our guests. We urge all our guests to get in touch with our customer care if they happen to face form of issues during their stay with us so we can provide an immediate solution. Do consider us when you travel next and we hope to give you a better quality service when you visit us. Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
My house away from home
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review we hope you visit us again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good experience

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Didn't stay myself but booked for my relatives. It's thier feedback
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We regret to know that you had a bad experience with the hotel. The entire property is being refurnished to gain total guest satisfaction. We have also hired a much more efficient and professional staff to take care of our guests. We urge all our guests to get in touch with our customer care if they happen to face form of issues during their stay with us so we can provide an immediate solution. Do consider us when you travel next and we hope to give you a better quality service when you visit us. Regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was great ask them for their new room at the back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review we hope to see you again. Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel for location wise

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Some staff members are very good and polite.
Cons: Room conditions, prices, windows, ventilation in rooms.
Location: Near caraft market, very easy for shopping and travelling. Transpiration is good.
Single rooms are very expensive, although conditions are not very good.Some are bit smelly and plug power not working.They are broken. wi fi does not work great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We regret to know that you had a bad experience with the hotel. The entire property is being refurnished to gain total guest satisfaction. We have also hired a much more efficient and professional staff to take care of our guests. We urge all our guests to get in touch with our customer care if they happen to face form of issues during their stay with us so we can provide an immediate solution. Do consider us when you travel next and we hope to give you a better quality service when you visit us. Regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great budget hotel in Mumbai

Posted Dec 3, 2015
Pros: Location Staff
Staff very helpful when we needed to have our rooms together with outside space. Breakfast included in the price,served nextdoor in a cafe and was really nice good choice including eggs. Good location for CST station,Crawford Market.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank You for your review and we hope to see you again. Regards