Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Stephen

Not top to expectations.

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed here before and had a far better experience. It was very expensive for what it was. The prices in the restaurant were expensive as were the drinks. The breakfast was OK, the service was better though. The room was cleaned everyday. If I was in Mumbai again I would probably look elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Run down hotel in need of complete refurb

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Awful - no good impressions- looked dirty and totally uninviting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, California

Comfortable, and great location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
We had a seafront room for 2 nights. Our room was comfortable and spacious, with an ensuite bathroom also with sea view. The staff provided good service, and a simple buffet breakfast was included. We loved the location, which enabled us to walk to the Gateway of India for a morning boat trip to Elephanta Caves, and later walk towards town to see the great stone British-era buildings and enjoy the life of the city. Room rate and food prices seemed high for India, but perhaps not for Mumbai. Fun rooftop bar/cafe!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton.

Great small hotel, beautifully located next to Taj

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Stated there previously.
Cons: This is a small hotel, they are good.
Location: Location is fantastic.
I was welcomed at Reception and acknowledged as a long standing customer, up graded to the Appolo room , which was excellent. Although I had not stayed there for 18mths, the porter and restaurant staff recognised me and took great care of me throughout my stay. I travel on my own, this was very reassuring. I would definitely recommend the Sea Palace in Colaba Mumbay. The Terrasse Restaurant is a great Refuge after a day out!.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from punjab, India

The sea view is great

Posted Dec 23, 2016
It was an average hotel with ok staff but with a frat sea view
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No minimum conditions

Posted Dec 17, 2016
No hot water. We didnt shower for three days, everyday the promised that the problem will be fixed tomorrow. I guess there is a reason for the low price..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very well located Hotel with great rooftop bar

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Location: Recomend to go to Leopolds Cafe, go on a tour to the slam with Reality Tours and go shopping near the hotel.
I would highly recomend it if what you want is to be in the right spot, you are 8 buildings away from the Taj Mahal Palace and 3 minutes walk from Gate of India. The hotel has a really nice rooftop bar where you can have a cold beer with great vies to the Gate of India while listening to some nice music. I was travelling alone, and think this was just the right place to be. The owner of the hotel is a very nice person who would really take care of you and make sure you feel like at home at his hotel. Mumbai is very expensive so expect just a basic room with a not very confortable bed. The breakfast is good enough.
2 out of 5
by Gregory

Don't Let the View Fool You

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room was nothing like the photos in hotels.com. We were supposed to have a king size bed. It was two twins pushed together. There was no hot water, the bathroom was dirty and the floor tiles were coming up off the floor. I was very disappointed. Location was good and convenient. Luckily we didn't spend much time at hotel.
5 out of 5
by Bramwell from Manchester

Excellent hotel and location

Posted Mar 12, 2016 on Hotels
Great little hotel situated on promanade few hundred meters from the Gateway to India can go anywhere in taxi for £1 or les Great views over harbour, very helpful management and staff asked for room with large window and was upgraded to superior room on forth floor free of charge with balcony. Rooms 100 % westernised Excellent roof top Restraunt with great view and good food Infdian, Chineese, European average main course cost £4
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First visit

Posted Jan 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room was a good size however we booked for 3 people and one bed was on the floor. With three beds there was a lack of room for baggage but we managed by being very organised. The power points were very difficult to access and our adapters did not work. There were not enough power outlets for 3 people to charge various devices. The restaurant was convenient and we joyed the food and views from the rooftop. Access to shopping, the Taj Palace and taxis was great. StAff were polite and friendly. Internet access in rooms was difficult - we had to stand near the door.... overall the Sea Palace was a convenient and satisfactory hotel for a good price in a good location. A few fixes round have made a big difference.