Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Central location, near the sea

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Its location. In the heart of Mumbai.
Cons: The room's furnishings, the bathrooms, the lobby, the restaurant.
The hotel's best point is that it's on Marine drive. The staff is friendly and professional. However, the rooms are old and small. The toilet in my room leaked. The lobby is pretty shabby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by AFOM, Hotel Management
Dear Anil, Greetings of the day !!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Product were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences faced by you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbances caused to you during your stay. We have noted your concerns and have discussed them with the team members and corrective action has been taken to avoid future recurrence. Also, we are pleased to know that you were very happy with the overall facilities, Staff and the hospitality. Your kind words have been shared with the hotel staff and it is feedback like this that motivates us to serve you better. Please give us an opportunity to recover your confidence in us during your next visit to The Ambassador Hotel. Warm regards, Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017
terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible, terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2017 by AFOM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings of the day !!! At the outset let me thank you for sparing your time to post the review about your experiences at The Ambassador Hotel, Mumbai. We agree that the usual high standards of our Products/ services were not met in the instance and we understand how disappointing it can be when your expectations are not met. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences faced by you. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disturbances caused to you during your stay. We have noted your concerns and have discussed them with the team members and corrective action has been taken to avoid future recurrence. Please give us an opportunity to recover your confidence in us during your next visit to The Ambassador Hotel. Warm regards, Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location close to the sea and amenities

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Location, food, staff
Cons: -
Location: see the review above.
We loved our stay at this luxuries hotel. The reception staff were polite and professional. Mr. Pinge, the manager dealt with an issue we had in a professional manner and he went out of his way to sort it out. The porter Mr. Khan who has been working at this hotel for more than 25 years, was also considerate and polite. We felt safe and enjoyed our mini family break immensely. The room service was exceptionally good. They patiently dealt with every request about replenishing the items in our room. The breakfast had a delicious spread. If you love Indian food, especially south Indian food, then you should certainly give it a go. There was abundant choice from Indian to continental including authentic fluffly idlis (steamed rice cakes), sambar (medium spicy dal curry), 4 types of chutneys, puri, aloo bhaaji, porridge, chicken sausages, waffles, omelettes, ham, cakes, variety of cheeses etc to cater for every palette. Tea was served at the table. The location is extremely good too. Sea is just 2 minutes walk on the right of the hotel. You can buy a variety of clothes from Asiatic department store which is located opposite the hotel at the left, 5 minutes walk. Baskin Robin's ice-cream shop is just on the right of the hotel. Churchgate station is 2 minutes walk. You can eat in the hotel, or there is the famous Gaylord restaurant opposite Ambassador on the left (5-6 minutes walk). All in all, a very good stay, the rooms are spacious and clean too. Go for it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by AFOM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings of the Day!!! We would like to thank you for sharing your valuable and detailed feedback with us. We are glad to know that you had a wonderful experience on you stay . We are pleased to know that you were very happy with the Staff and hospitality. Your kind words have been shared with the hotel staff and it is feedback like this that motivates us to serve you better. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient but dirty rooms.

Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
Average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings of the Day!!! Thank you so much for posting your review on your stay with us. We are extremely sorry for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. We are truly disheartened in ourselves and would apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Please treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards. We highly value our guests and look after their needs well. We have taken this issue quite strongly with our team and would like to assure you that such an experience doesn’t occur in the future. If given an opportunity we look forward to welcoming back soon and offer you the signature Ambassador Experience, which our guests have grown so fond of. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
by Thilomi

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings of the Day!!! We would like to thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are glad to know that you had a wonderful experience on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Situated in City centre

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Old Hotel which is ok but Staff is very inefficient.. Not so friendly n not highly motivated
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by AFOM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Greetings of the Day!!! Thank you so much for posting your review on your stay with us. We are extremely sorry for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. We are truly disheartened in ourselves and would apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Please treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards. We highly value our guests and look after their needs well. We have taken this issue quite strongly with our team and would like to assure you that such an experience doesn’t occur in the future. If given an opportunity we look forward to welcoming back soon and offer you the signature Ambassador Experience, which our guests have grown so fond of. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Rip off, lacks basics, bad stinking rooms

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Lacks basic facilities, basic equipment in the room doesn't work, photos are misleading, hotel is very old
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by AFOM, Hotel Management
Dear Aman, Greetings of the Day!!! Thank you so much for posting your review on your stay with us. We are extremely sorry for the unpleasant experience you had during your stay. We are truly disheartened in ourselves and would apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Please treat this as an isolated experience and not a reflection of our usual standards. We highly value our guests and look after their needs well. We have taken this issue quite strongly with our team and would like to assure you that such an experience doesn’t occur in the future. If given an opportunity we look forward to welcoming back soon and offer you the signature Ambassador Experience, which our guests have grown so fond of. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warm Regards Varsha Kode Assistant Front Office Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A week of cirvket in Mumbai

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Location, old world charm, breakfast, service - room service, housekeeping
Cons: reception staff - some were very good, some were not!
Location: Churchgate is a great place to base yourself for a Mumbai trip. Very close to Wankhede Stadium which suited us really well.
Enjoyed this old world hotel. Great location and the rooms were good. Service in the restaurant, house-keeping and room service were excellent. The reception staff were mixed - some excellent but a couple who were not really the best! Loved our stay and would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Great location. Good hotel. Everything nearby including famous marinedriva
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from INDIA

Not worth for money charg. No health Club facilite

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs major overhaul
Will not rcomend. Short staffed to handle guests for check-in formalities. Although staff members are courteous.