Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

A GEM....in a chaotic but vibrant spot.

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Unique design
Cons: The noise of the aircondiotioner motor from outside.
Location: Walk on the Lansdowne street is interesting,the curio and antique shops specially.
A well thought of ,quaint but stylish in its unique way with very good service . All stir fry.the restaurant has good food, good ambience, efficient service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great location and great value

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Would definitely stay here again, very pleased with it. Great location just around the corner from the gates of India. Staff were lovely and pleasant to deal with also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel Experience

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location, clean, helpful staff, good breakfast.
Cons: Bathrooms could be bigger.
Bathrooms are a bit cramped, but otherwise an excellent hotel.
4 out of 5
by rahul

Book For the Location.

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Being an old favourite boutique hotel, I booked this for nostalgia. Other than that, if I were to have stayed there now for the first time, I definitely would have mixed reactions. Nothing can beat the location of this hotel. If you traveling to Bombay for pleasure, this is where one needs to stay. Great neighborhood. Best cultural experience you can have. Other than that, the property being old, there are some basic issues. Air conditioning sure was a problem. And in Bombay summer, it's extremely uncomfortable when the AC isn't optimum. And this being Bombay with space constraints, the bathrooms are way too small. But overall, great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

The Gorden House Hotel is in an excellent position

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Only a few minutes walk to the palace, gateway, leopard cafe, markets across the street. The staff directed us easily to everything we needed. I recommend it, especially to first time travellers to Mumbai like us. Also, well priced and the food was good, especially the lunches Havana on the second floor. We didn't hear any noise on the saturday night from the nightclub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Excellent location in colaba near gate of india

Posted Feb 9, 2016
We stayed there for 4 nights. We were overall happy with our stay. Checking in was efficient. Rooms were good size and clean. Air conditioning was noisy. Breakfast satisfactory. Indian dishes delicious.used stir fry one night..superb. Only issue was the disco which some may find offputting. Staff were excellent. Would use again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well priced, clean & secure hotel

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
In town for business and wanted a well priced, clean & secure hotel that was easy to get in and out of for various meetings in Colaba. This hotel was exactly that. Didn't have any issues with the nightclub noise that was reported on other reviews but then I was there on a Mon & Tues night. Staff very helpful. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Very good hotel Excellent location in Colaba,

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Its cleanliness staffattitude, location
Cons: Get rid of the noise
Location: Central location, rapid access to ferry forElephanta Caves, close to the Taj, India Gate, interesting shopping and restaurants all accessible on foot
Would have been perfect, but although my room was excellent, there was a constant noise, day and night, still there when you switch off the AC, made it difficult to sleepat night. I signalled it when I checked in , nothing could be done. Stayed there 5yrs ago, the problem was already existant disappointing.
1 out of 5
by Amit from Pune

Gordon House Colaba - Mumbai - Worst hotel ever...

Posted Jan 18, 2016 on Hotels
It was one of the worst experience for me. I reached the hotel at 3:15PM. Inspite of 12PM checkin, reception asked me to wait for 30 more minutes as room was not ready. After I checked in, I called at least 3 times before some one came and helped me with the Safe which was not working. Finally they changed the safe. Late night, I started hearing loud noise and my room floor was vibrating as there was a discotheque near my room. After complaining, they changed my room at 1AM in the midnight. Reception was aware of this problem, still they gave me this room. I had to get up at 4AM to be ready for Mumbai Marathon #SCMM. I barely got 2hrs sleep. I would never again recommend this hotel to anyone.