Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lousy Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Hopeless and rubbish people. Just want to cheat guests. I have never come across a hotel in my entire worldwide travel experience where the hotel asks for entire trip payment in advance. The breakfast spread is absolutely rubbish and the manager incharge is only interested in seeing you go. Wifi is totaly unstable. Even the laptop for guests use at the reception does not work. Would never stay with them again. Strongly recommend people to be careful before booking a stay with THE SHALIMAR HOTEL MUMBAI
3 out of 5
by Ahmed

Unpleasent stay

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
We did not enjoy our stay at the hotel as the standard of the services, cleanliness and general hospitality does not relate match with their rating. They can cheat you if you are not careful. Our first day was horrible, we were not given the room that we had booked and instead were given a substandard room and charged the same rate. When we threatened to shorten our stay to one day and look for the another commendation that is when they promised to shift us to the desired room on the second day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Close to the beach

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Zen rooms need upgradation. Double beds and hand shower would be good investment to begin with. Not worth my money overall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing roomservice, gotta try the sheeshas

Posted Feb 16, 2017
So I went to Bombay for a wedding while there I stayed in the hotel, this is amazing value for your money, location is superb and the staff are amazing! All requests were fulfilled with quality and expertise! Only had two minor incidents with the staff however that was swiftly resolved and the rest of the stay was perfect! Furthermore when your there you gotta try the sheesh, it's the best you can have while your there and everything is increadibly cheap already, but if you head out it's even cheaper which is insane! Anyways definitely recommend to stay here best place to be, if not staying at a 5star hotel
3 out of 5
by Ruby

Book with caution

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
I had made a confirmed booking for a double room with complete payment 3 months in advance . At the hotel reception staff was rude and given 2 separate single beds and told it is subject to availability. It felt like been put through another scam by trip advisor and hotel. The hotel is very good 3 star equivalent in general with narrow aisle etc but definitely not a 5 star as advertised. Rooms otherwise were clean and spaciousness
4 out of 5
by vineet

Clean, Nice Hotel in Mumbai

Posted Jan 19, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent mid-level hotel... clean, comfy, and nice customer service. The breakfast was delicious, too. The only drawback was that the on site nightclub means the hotel's ground floor is popular among affluent Mumbai hipsters in the evenings. But I didn't hear a peep up in my room on the 6th floor, so even that wasn't so much of an issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk and Barbados

Central to Malaber area.

Posted Jan 18, 2017
In the heart of where the Parsi community live. Easy to get to other parts of Mumbai.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Lastminute
I recently booked 6 nights of accommodation at the shalimar hotel and due to a website error I had to do 6 single night bookings I emailed them to make sure that I was gonna stay I the same room for those 6 nights and I booked a room with a queen size bed they emailed me back to confirm that it was not a problem to stay in one and the same room for those nights however when I got there they they wanted to put me in a room with 2 single beds and make me move to another room the next day!!!!!!!!!! I refused to accept this and they had to quickly clean another room upgrade from what I had ordered (luckily someone had vacated earlier) that took an hour and a half and I ended up consuming 2 beers in the downstairs bar which I immediately told them they had to make them complementary I showed them prove of the confirmation they had send me and after quite some time arguing then agreed to make those drinks complementary. Give me a good reason why I should stay there again.
4 out of 5
by krishanchund

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
good service,breakfast ,cleanliness of rooms and abt 15 min walk to train stn
3 out of 5
by Swag

Convenient hotel with rude staff

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
The room was nice but two BIG negatives. The "complementary" WIFi service was awful and the receptionist was rude and unhelpful.