Ratings based on 1,041 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

We felt like Royalty

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: We felt like royalty staying here!
Location: Great location!
Amazing stay at this beautiful hotel. Nothing is to much trouble. Its a wonderful experience to stay here
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Eager to please

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Atmosphere, the way the staff treat you, quality of food, quality of services such as the spa, the location, having a pool.
Cons: Not to do renovation works in the middle of the night. And to ensure all rooms are completely soundproof.
Location: Mumbai is one of my favourite cities in India. So much to soak up.
I've been to India five times and treated myself this time to the Taj Palace in Mumbai. I got a great deal through Expedia and everything about the hotel up to the second night was amazing. The staff, comfort, facilities, breakfast. But then for the second, third and fourth nights there were renovation works taking place. Not only during the hours that the hotel said they would (9am to 7pm) but during the night all I could hear from neighbouring rooms / via the airconditiong vents was hammering and drilling. I complained several times to staff as this severely ruined my sleep. They first apologised with a free massage then moved me to a different room to sleep on the last night, then upon check-out advised I would get a refund for one night. So despite the issues and unfortunate experience I was, at least, happy that the staff bent over backwards trying to apologise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munshi

Fabulous heritage property and great service

Posted May 29, 2017
We stayed at the club room in the heritage wing. Rooms have been designed with great care to preserve the history and ambience of the old. Although the size and layout is smaller than typical luxury properties but it is replete with amenities. Private butler, club facilities etc make it an extremely convenient option for short stay - whether you are ttkraveling for business or with family. Overall a great experience !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT and CA

Above and beyond expectations

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Next to the India gate and ferries to Elephanta Caves and Colaba Market is very close by.
Great staff! We were given a room upgrade, and the staff couldn't have been more kind and helpful. The hotel provides lots of lovely little "extras." The floral arrangements were gorgeous, and the food delicious. Location couldn't be better, and stunning view of the India Gate from the Sea Lounge restaurant. Hope I get to go there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel by the sea next to the Gateway of

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The service was truly excellent. not a single bad experience with any member of staff during the whole stay.
Cons: Breakfast. Some might be surprised by this given the extent of dishes available but I am just not keen on large buffet breakfasts.
Location: y venture too far away from the hotel as trying to get anywhere in Mumbai is very severely hampered by the traffic.
Very beautiful with comfortable rooms. The service was excellent at every turn. Ate in two of the restaurants, Souk and Kraft Masala. The food and wine were excellent Kraft Masala and the champagne brunch at Souk was also very good with great views of the Gateway of India and the flotilla of little boats bobbing on the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Nice hotel but surrounding area noisy overnight

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Was there on a business trip. Hotel facilities excellent. Restaurants within the hotel could be better and very expensive compared to other 5 star hotels around the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best hotel I have stayed in,

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing, they are the best already
Location: The landmark of Mumbai before the Gateway
The stall from the moment we arrived to the the checkout were just so helpful and the service was excellent, reminds of things from an erase the modern lifestyle has forgotten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Elegant Old India

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We loved this hotel. The location is excellent, gorgeous hotel, lovely pool, wonderful service. We will stay here again if we return to Mumbai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Must stay hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Cleaniless, pool, breakfast, service
Location: Right next to the Gateway of India and boats to Elephanta Island.
Such a beautiful and historic hotel. Their attention to detail was phenomenal. From a welcoming gift when you arrive, to all the amenties, to a goodbye token, they really care about their guests. Hotel is very beautiful, pool is sublime, as well as the breakfast. Great location, could see the Gateway to India from our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I think they r very understanding and helpful at the front desk. the staff try to help the customers as much as they can . this is very unique to many hotels around the globe hope this sprit stay and others learn from them