Ratings based on 959 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Great hotel near India Gateway

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Great staff, Great Hotel & good food - had great week at the Taj
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds - England

5 Day stay at The Taj Mahal Place Hotel - Mumbai

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Great heritage and superb location. The Hotel did not disappoint. The views are spectacular especially if you opt for a sea view.
Cons: Maintenance is of course essential to any building but this hotel has kept with its traditional values and is superb down to the finest detail.
Location: Sea front location with excellent coastal walkway. Boats leave opposite hotel for Elephanta Caves from 0900hrs every half hour. Plenty of eateries.
Day 1 - Individual Tour - See The Real Mumbai (viator.com) Pick-up 0930 - The itinerary included visiting the historic sites of Gothic architecture along with the cultural side, observing locals offering their prayers and morning rituals, as well as feeding cows (sacred animal). A local train ride including visiting places such as the Gateway of India, Flower Market, Dhobi-Ghat (outside laundry) and CST railway station. Day 2 - Dharavi Slum Tour (viator.com) & Marine Drive Photographs were not allowed. A 2.5-hour walking tour covering the recycling area, a bakery, the creation of pots from sun-dried clay, and the women of Dharavi making popadoms. Proceeds from the local tour operator go back into the local community to support a variety of projects on education, health and livelihood. Marine Drive; a 3.6-kilometre-long coastal road situated over reclaimed land - a great walk. Day 3 - Ferry Trip Cost - Rs. 180 (£2.10pp). Ferry from virtually outside our hotel for the first sailing (0900hrs) to the Elephanta Caves which took an hour. Day 4 - Mosque & Beach Taxi Rs. 200 (£2.50) to Haji Ali Dargah Mosque which is one of the most popular religious places in Mumbai. Located about 500 yards from the Mumbai shoreline in the middle of the Arabian Sea. Taxi Rs. 360 (£4.30) to Juhu Beach which is among one of the most affluent areas of the city and home to many Bollywood celebrities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel in Mumbai

Posted Feb 15, 2017
If you can afford it, this is where you want to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible hotel.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. The staff is amazing the hotel itself is beautiful and the amenities are outstanding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Generally speaking it is a very good hotel, as could be expected; yet, the rates of the extra (e.g., resturants) go beyond what you really get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Just an Indian marvel ... above and beyond any place I have ever stayed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.Wales

nice and close to the sea and gateway of India

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: Location , staff, and quality
Cons: Nothing
Location: Plenty of shops , restaurants etc,
This is my second time ,and I had wonderful room with fabulous view of the sea and the gateway to India ,all the staff extremely courteous ,food and service good,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel with sea view

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The service was excellent, very courteous and humble staff, always smiling and helpful staff, excellent food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful, Histotical...a must stay!!

Posted Jan 27, 2017
I only stayed at the hotel and didn't explore everything - but from what I saw, it was perfect. The location was great - near to all the main sites and shopping. The staff could not do enough for you / it gets 5 star for service for that!! I felt the room could have more of a wow factor but it was a minor. Overall a great stay and will certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A full 5 *****

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Everything No
Cons: Nothing
Location: The Gate of India is almost ajacent
We arrived at the Taj after long two hour traffic congested journey with a taxi driver who did not know where the hotel is situated,.!! he stopped frequently to ask others directions. We entered the Taj Palace and was greeted with a cool drink, seated while our booking was confirmed. We were given an upgrade to a bueatiful room overlooking the pool . All the staff who we came into contact with greeted us with a smile and genuine courtesy my wife became ill not long after our arrival. The reception could not do enough for her. They arranged for a doctor who prescribed medication that worked. Unfortunately we did not leave our room for the duration of our stay. We could not have been anymore pleased by the manner in which we were cared for by the Taj Palace Hotel.