Ratings based on 1,026 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT and CA

Above and beyond expectations

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Next to the India gate and ferries to Elephanta Caves and Colaba Market is very close by.
Great staff! We were given a room upgrade, and the staff couldn't have been more kind and helpful. The hotel provides lots of lovely little "extras." The floral arrangements were gorgeous, and the food delicious. Location couldn't be better, and stunning view of the India Gate from the Sea Lounge restaurant. Hope I get to go there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel by the sea next to the Gateway of

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The service was truly excellent. not a single bad experience with any member of staff during the whole stay.
Cons: Breakfast. Some might be surprised by this given the extent of dishes available but I am just not keen on large buffet breakfasts.
Location: y venture too far away from the hotel as trying to get anywhere in Mumbai is very severely hampered by the traffic.
Very beautiful with comfortable rooms. The service was excellent at every turn. Ate in two of the restaurants, Souk and Kraft Masala. The food and wine were excellent Kraft Masala and the champagne brunch at Souk was also very good with great views of the Gateway of India and the flotilla of little boats bobbing on the sea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Nice hotel but surrounding area noisy overnight

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Was there on a business trip. Hotel facilities excellent. Restaurants within the hotel could be better and very expensive compared to other 5 star hotels around the world.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Best hotel I have stayed in,

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing, they are the best already
Location: The landmark of Mumbai before the Gateway
The stall from the moment we arrived to the the checkout were just so helpful and the service was excellent, reminds of things from an erase the modern lifestyle has forgotten.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Elegant Old India

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We loved this hotel. The location is excellent, gorgeous hotel, lovely pool, wonderful service. We will stay here again if we return to Mumbai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Must stay hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Cleaniless, pool, breakfast, service
Location: Right next to the Gateway of India and boats to Elephanta Island.
Such a beautiful and historic hotel. Their attention to detail was phenomenal. From a welcoming gift when you arrive, to all the amenties, to a goodbye token, they really care about their guests. Hotel is very beautiful, pool is sublime, as well as the breakfast. Great location, could see the Gateway to India from our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2017
I think they r very understanding and helpful at the front desk. the staff try to help the customers as much as they can . this is very unique to many hotels around the globe hope this sprit stay and others learn from them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Best hotel in Mumbai

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Everything. There are no cons.
Location: Right in front of India Gate and Elephanta ferries.
The Taj Palace is flat out the best hotel in Mumbai. It's a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. Amazing rooms, service, grounds, and facilities. Located right by the water in front of the India Gate. Staying here was a memorable experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA USA, Earth

Great location; however...

Posted Mar 17, 2017
This hotel has great pedigree and a prime location; however, the what must be Las Vegas-inspired interior decoration ruins its outward historic facade. While our tower room had a gorgeous view of the gate of India, that could not compensate for its moldy/musty aroma and lack of decorator's taste. The historic wing was equally uninspiring with darkened hallways (due to the 3+ ceiling fixtures that were unilluminated), that came equipped with obsequious and over-bearing staff that kept reminding us that we were not staying in that wing. God forbid we would ever have to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Telford Shropshire

Top quality hotel

Posted Mar 13, 2017
We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived to the time we left nothing was too difficult for the staff